Home Formula 4Italian F4 Dennis Hauger ends winless run in second Italian F4 Misano race

Dennis Hauger ends winless run in second Italian F4 Misano race

by Tim Lumb

Van Amersfoort Racing’s Dennis Hauger won the second Italian Formula 4 race of the weekend at Misano after overtaking team-mate Niklas Krutten on the penultimate lap.

Krutten got past Hauger on the opening lap of the race to take second place behind poleman Paul Aron of Prema, who soon after was given a drive-through penalty after he reversed into his grid slot ahead of the start of the race.

Hauger stayed close to his team-mate throughout the first half of the race and the pair had an 8.6 second gap to Prema’s Oliver Rasmussen in third.? The safety car was then deployed with 11 minutes to go after Aron became beached in the gravel trap.

The leading duo again created a gap to the rest of the field when racing resumed, and at the end of the penultimate lap Hauger was able to get back past Krutten for the lead. He held on to the lead to take victory, his first since the Snetterton round of British F4 last year.

Championship leader and race one winner Gianluca Petecof took the last step on the podium after passing Prema team-mate Rasmussen – who was given a five-second penalty during the race – after the safety car period.

Rasmussen was able to keep hold of fourth even with the penalty, with Van Amersfoort Racing’s Ido Cohen finishing the race in fifth.

Cohen’s fellow Israeli Roee Meyuhas, driving for Cram Motorsport, was able to hold off Bhaitech’s Mikhail Belov at the line for sixth, with Mucke Motorsport duo Joshua Durksen and William Alatalo, and Jenzer Motorsport’s Jonny Edgar completing the top 10.

Petecof now has a 56-point lead in the standings over Durksen.


Race round-up (18 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Dennis Hauger Van Amersfoort Racing 33m32.078s
2 Niklas Krutten Van Amersfoort Racing +1.044s
3 Gianluca Petecof Prema +5.795s
4 Oliver Rasmussen Prema +11.278s
5 Ido Cohen Van Amersfoort Racing +12.427s
6 Roee Meyuhas Cram Motorsport +14.287s
7 Mikhael Belov Bhaitech +14.785s
8 Joshua Durksen Mucke Motorsport +15.384s
9 William Alatalo Mucke Motorsport +16.783s
10 Jonny Edgar Jenzer Motorsport +17.725s
11 Umberto Laganella Bhaitech +22.315s
12 Daniel Vebster Cram Motorsport +22.680s
13 Emilio Cipriani Cram Motorsport +24.289s
14 Francesco Simonazzi Cram Motorsport +24.899s
15 Lorenzo Ferrari Antonelli Motorsport +32.398s
16 Sebastian Freymuth AS Motorsport +32.856s
17 Amna Al Qubaisi Prema +38.789s
18 Fabio Venditti Corbetta Competizioni +41.336s
19 Giorgio Carrara Jenzer Motorsport +45.090s
20 Lucas Allecco Roy Van Amersfoort Racing +47.457s
Fastest lap: Hauger, 1m36.321s

Championship standings
?Petecof 100? ?2 Durksen 44? ?3?Hauger 44? ?4?Belov 41? ?5?Krutten 37? ?6?Rasmussen 36? ?7?Roman Stanek 32? ?8 Cohen 32? ?9?Paul Aron 22? ?10?Alatalo 22