Home News De Alba fastest for JHDD in IP2000 test, Flack joins as team-mate

De Alba fastest for JHDD in IP2000 test, Flack joins as team-mate

by Ida Wood

Photo: Gavin Baker Photography

Jay Howard Driver Development’s Salvador de Alba was fastest in both Indy Pro 2000 test sessions at Gateway, which marked the first appearance of his new team-mate.

GB3 race-winner Marcos Flack is joining JHDD for this weekend’s race on the Gateway oval and the season finale at Portland on September 2-4, and got his first taste of the IP2000 car in a private test at Gateway earlier this month.

Turn 3 Motorsport’s Josh Green set the pace at first in Friday’s first pre-event test session, lapping initially at the 138.5mph mark and then improving by 0.9 miles per hour around the super smooth track.

With 23 minutes remaining of the first session, de Alba rose into first place with the first 140mph lap of the day. He improved on it twice and his best effort – a 32.0297s lap – had an average speed of 140.495mph.

Just 0.093 seconds slower was team-mate Braden Eves, with Flack seventh fasest in his first IP2000 season.

De Alba was then quickest again in session two, although he couldn’t quite match his earlier pace. He was six thousandths of a second slower (equating to a 0.024mph difference), but the former NASCAR driver was still a clear 0.179s ahead of Juncos Hollinger Racing’s Reece Gold and DEForce Racing’s Nolan Siegel, who along with Exclusive Autosport duo Louis Foster and Lindsay Brewer and Pabst Racing pairing Yuven Sundaramoorthy and Jordan Missig were the only five drivers to set their best lap in session two.

Test results

Pos Driver Team Speed Gap Laps
1 Salvador de Alba JHDD 140.495mph 98
2 Braden Eves JHDD 140.088mph +0.0930s 94
3 Reece Gold Juncos Hollinger Racing 139.929mph +0.1295s 99
4 Nolan Siegel DEForce Racing 139.682mph +0.1864s 69
5 Louis Foster Exclusive Autosport 139.639mph +0.1972s 118
6 Josh Green Turn 3 Motorsport 139.399mph +0.2517s 102
7 Marcos Flack JHDD 138.938mph +0.3589s 84
8 Jordan Missig Pabst Racing 138.662mph +0.4234s 130
9 Enaam Ahmed Juncos Hollinger Racing 138.601mph +0.4377s 86
10 Bijoy Garg DEForce Racing 138.468mph +0.4687s 93
11 Yuven Sundaramoorthy Pabst Racing 138.185mph +0.5359s 123
12 Kiko Porto DEForce Racing 137.315mph +0.7417s 79
13 Trey Burke Turn 3 Motorsport 137.246mph +0.7581s 97
14 Jack William Miller Miller Vinatieri Motorsport 136.752mph +0.8765s 101
15 Lindsay Brewer Exclusive Autosport 134.212mph +1.4995s 110