Home Formula RegionalFRegional European Championship David takes pole for first race of FREC season finale at Monza

David takes pole for first race of FREC season finale at Monza

by Roger Gascoigne

Photo: FRECA

Hadrien David maintained the strong pace he showed in testing on Friday to set the fastest time in qualifying for the first Formula Regional European Championship by Alpine race at Monza.

The R-ace GP driver set a time of 1m46.325s midway through the 20 minute session which his rivals were unable to beat.

Gregoire Saucy set the second-best time, just 0.03 seconds slower than David, for ART Grand Prix, with Franco Colapinto of MP Motorsport benefitting from a tow from team-mate Dilano van’t Hoff to post the third best time.

Fourth-fastest time was set by Gabriel Bortoleto for FA Racing on his final lap of the session with an improvement on his previous best of 0.33s.

David’s R-ace GP team-mates Zane Maloney and Isack Hadjar had featured at the top of the timesheets for much of the session but were unable to improve as others went faster in the closing minutes, dropping to fifth and seventh respectively at the flag, split by another late improver, Andrea Rosso for FA.

Prema Powerteam’s drivers had a disappointing qualifying session after posting encouraging times throughout the collective tests. Dino Beganovic finished 11th, one place ahead of Paul Aron, with David Vidales a further two places further back.

Sami Meguetounif of R-ace GP was the fastest of the wildcard entries in 18th place, one position ahead of van’t Hoff. Debutant Callum Hedge was 25th whilst series returnee Konsta Lappalainen finished 32nd.

Track limits were once again an issue, particularly at the Curva Alboreto, the renamed Parabolica, with 11 lap times being deleted for infringements.

Qualifying results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Hadrien David R-ace GP 1m46.325s 10
2 Gregoire Saucy ART Grand Prix 1m46.355s +0.030s 10
3 Franco Colapinto MP Motorsport 1m46.376s +0.051s 10
4 Gabriel Bortoleto FA Racing 1m46.397s +0.072s 10
5 Zane Maloney R-ace GP 1m46.445s +0.120s 10
6 Andrea Rosso FA Racing 1m46.456s +0.131s 10
7 Isack Hadjar R-ace GP 1m46.468s +0.143s 10
8 Patrik Pasma ART Grand Prix 1m46.480s +0.155s 10
9 Gabriele Mini ART Grand Prix 1m46.501s +0.176s 10
10 Alex Quinn Arden 1m46.520s +0.195s 10
11 Dino Beganovic Prema Powerteam 1m46.521s +0.196s 10
12 Paul Aron Prema Powerteam 1m46.592s +0.267s 10
13 Mari Boya Van Amersfoort Racing 1m46.597s +0.272s 10
14 David Vidales Prema Powerteam 1m46.626s +0.301s 10
15 Michael Belov G4 Racing 1m46.679s +0.354s 8
16 William Alatalo Arden 1m46.872s +0.547s 10
17 Francesco Pizzi Van Amersfoort Racing 1m46.891s +0.566s 10
18 Sami Meguetounif R-ace GP 1m46.896s +0.571s 10
19 Dilano Van’t Hoff MP Motorsport 1m46.968s +0.643s 10
20 Kas Haverkort MP Motorsport 1m46.987s +0.662s 10
21 Pietro Delli Guanti Monolite Racing 1m47.176s +0.851s 9
22 Eduardo Barrichello JD Motorsport 1m47.206s +0.881s 10
23 Nicola Marinangeli Arden 1m47.207s +0.882s 9
24 Gianluca Petecof Kic Motorsport 1m47.260s +0.935s 9
25 Callum Hedge G4 Racing 1m47.374s +1.049s 8
26 Emidio Pesce DR Formula 1m47.374s +1.049s 10
27 Alexandre Bardinon FA Racing 1m47.417s +1.092s 10
28 Ido Cohen JD Motorsport 1m47.501s +1.176s 10
29 Nico Gohler Kic Motorsport 1m47.560s +1.235s 10
30 Oliver Goethe MP Motorsport 1m47.576s +1.251s 10
31 Tom Smith JD Motorsport 1m47.622s +1.297s 10
32 Konsta Lappalainen Kic Motorsport 1m47.643s +1.318s 10
33 Axel Gnos G4 Racing 1m47.857s +1.532s 8
34 Lorenzo Fluxa Van Amersfoort Racing 1m47.889s +1.564s 10
35 Lena Buhler R-ace GP 1m47.972s +1.647s 10