Home Formula 4ADAC F4 Crawford slashes Edgar’s lead with ADAC F4 win at Lausitzring

Crawford slashes Edgar’s lead with ADAC F4 win at Lausitzring

by Tim Lumb

Photo: ADAC/Gruppe C Photography

Jak Crawford took his third win of the 2020 ADAC Formula 4 season in race two at Lausitzring, slashing the championship points gap to team-mate Jonny Edgar.

The Van Amersfoort Racing driver got off the line well and stayed behind pole-sitter Kirill Smal during the opening third of the race, as championship leader Edgar made his way from the back of the grid into the top five early on.

Crawford took the lead of the race at the half-way mark from Smal and was under pressure from Edgar before the British team-mate damaged his front wing trying to overtake and had to pit.

The safety car bunched the pack up for three minutes of green flag racing, however Crawford was able to stay ahead of the cars behind to take the chequered flag in first place.

US Racing’s Tim Tramnitz got by Smal after the restart to take second place for the third time in 2020.

Smal and Joshua Duerksen were only separated by 0.014s at the chequered flag, although it was the pole-sitter who took third place to round out the podium.

Smal’s R-ace GP team-mate Victor Bernier finished in fifth despite having to pit to change his front wing on lap two.

Oliver Bearman finished ahead of championship leader Edgar for seventh place, with Roee Meyuhas finishing in eighth after starting the race in ninth place.

Race Results (14 laps)

Pos Driver Team Time
1 Jak Crawford Van Amersfoort Racing 30m30.393s
2 Tim Tramnitz US Racing +1.447s
3 Kirill Smal R-ace GP +1.631s
4 Joshua Duerksen Mucke Motorsport +1.645s
5 Victor Bernier R-ace GP +2.429s
6 Oliver Bearman US Racing +2.880s
7 Jonny Edgar Van Amersfoort Racing +3.221s
8 Roee Meyuhas R-ace GP +4.438s
9 Erick Zuniga Mucke Motorsport +5.766s
10 Josef Knopp Mucke Motorsport +6.037s
11 Cenyu Han Van Amersfoort Racing +7.268s
12 Vlad Lomko US Racing DNF
13 Elias Seppanen US Racing DNF
Fastest lap: Bearman 1m53.162s

Championship standings
Edgar 250   2 Crawford 241   3 Seppanen 209   4 Tramnitz 179   5 Bernier 168   6 Duerksen 151   7 Bearman 116   8 Lomko 109   9 Gabriele Mini 82   10 Smal 72