Home Featured Crawford quickest for Prema on second morning of F3 testing

Crawford quickest for Prema on second morning of F3 testing

by Ida Wood

Photo: Formula Motorsport Limited

Jak Crawford was the fastest driver on the second morning of FIA Formula 3 Championship post-season testing at Valencia’s Ricardo Tormo circuit.

The Red Bull junior was driving for Prema in the car Dennis Hauger raced to the title this year, and he is widely expected to take that seat for 2022 after starring in Euroformula this year alongside a tricky rookie F3 season.

Crawford set the fastest lap of the three-hour Tuesday morning session during the second hour of running, with the order then not changing behind him despite several cars going out on track in the final hour. As teams switch focus to long runs and become more tyre-limited in what they can do, track activity will likely be more sparce over the remaining three sessions of testing and will also make it harder to make assessments of the true pace from the laptimes being set.

ART Grand Prix’s Formula Regional Europe champion Gregoire Saucy was fastest before Crawford, sitting on top of the timesheet for over half an hour with a 1m21.447s lap that he didn’t improve on after and was 0.079 seconds slower than Crawford.

Trident’s Roman Stanek was also within a tenth of a second of the pace, and had been the pacesetter during the first hour. He was usurped by MP Motorsport’s Caio Collet, but then improved at the same time as Saucy went ahead.

Day one pacesetter Jack Doohan was fifth for the debuting Van Amersfoort Racing, and stayed out on track later than almost everyone else as he sought to rack up more data for the team as it joins the series in 2022.

Italian Formula 4 champion Ollie Bearman was just 0.225s back in sixth, while further back Logan Sargeant was 23rd fastest on his return to Carlin.

Test results

Pos Name Team Time Gap Laps
1 Jak Crawford Prema 1m21.368s 55
2 Gregoire Saucy ART Grand Prix 1m21.447s +0.079s 55
3 Roman Stanek Trident 1m21.453s +0.085s 39
4 Caio Collet MP Motorsport 1m21.475s +0.107s 49
5 Jack Doohan Van Amersfoort Racing 1m21.521s +0.153s 59
6 Ollie Bearman Prema 1m21.593s +0.225s 53
7 Zane Maloney Trident 1m21.666s +0.298s 45
8 David Vidales Campos Racing 1m21.723s +0.355s 42
9 Kaylen Frederick Hitech GP 1m21.839s +0.471s 45
10 Reece Ushijima Van Amersfoort Racing 1m21.889s +0.521s 57
11 Juan Manuel Correa ART Grand Prix 1m21.999s +0.631s 53
12 Johnathan Hoggard Hitech GP 1m22.004s +0.636s 31
13 Oliver Rasmussen ART Grand Prix 1m22.028s +0.660s 53
14 Jonny Edgar Trident 1m22.099s +0.731s 60
15 Franco Colapinto MP Motorsport 1m22.128s +0.760s 47
16 Pepe Marti Campos Racing 1m22.206s +0.838s 39
17 Tijmen van der Helm MP Motorsport 1m22.235s +0.867s 50
18 Filip Ugran Charouz Racing System 1m22.273s +0.905s 62
19 Paul Aron Prema 1m22.331s +0.963s 53
20 Isack Hadjar Hitech GP 1m22.377s +1.009s 40
21 Rafael Villagomez Van Amersfoort Racing 1m22.497s +1.129s 54
22 Enzo Trulli Jenzer Motorsport 1m22.556s +1.188s 61
23 Logan Sargeant Carlin 1m22.692s +1.324s 51
24 Laszlo Toth Charouz Racing System 1m22.696s +1.328s 54
25 Hunter Yeany Campos Racing 1m22.715s +1.347s 40
26 William Alatalo Jenzer Motorsport 1m22.749s +1.381s 49
27 Nazim Azman Jenzer Motorsport 1m22.773s +1.405s 54
28 Zak O’Sullivan Carlin 1m22.792s +1.424s 42
29 Ido Cohen Carlin 1m22.942s +1.574s 56
30 Nicola Marinangeli Charouz Racing System 1m23.224s +1.856s 64