Home News Corry snatches USF2000 win in chaotic second NOLA race

Corry snatches USF2000 win in chaotic second NOLA race

by Peter Allen

Photo: Gavin Baker Photography

Sam Corry snatched victory as Max Garcia’s winning start to the USF2000 season was halted in a frantic second race at NOLA Motorsports Park.

Garcia kept the lead at the start but was challenged by Nico Christodoulou on his outside at the end of the back straight and the pair made contact. Garcia fell back to sixth while Christodoulou held onto second, with rookie Hudson Schwartz taking the lead.

Max Taylor took second from Velocity Racing Development team-mate Christodoulou on lap three before quickly closing the one-second gap to Schwartz, taking the lead away with lap five with Christodoulou following him through.

However, less than a lap later, Taylor lost control on his own into turn 4 and spun, forcing former GB3 racer Christodoulou onto the grass in avoidance.

Schwartz briefly inherited the lead once more, only for Evagoras Papasavvas to move by a few corners later.

A full course caution was required on lap nine to retrieve the car of Carson Etter, and there was confusion at the restart when the field seemed to bunch up behind Papasavvas on the exit of the final corner.

From fourth position, Corry didn’t hesitate and had the lead already as the field crossed the start-finish line.

Another caution was called to pick up a nosecone that broke loose on the restart, but Corry was not fazed and took victory by 0.6 seconds – his first since Indianapolis last May.

Garcia recovered to complete the podium ahead of Shwartz and Joey Brienza. Taylor came back to sixth, and Christodoulou charged from the rear of the field to finish seventh.

Race result (15 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Sam Corry Pabst Racing 28m15.7305s
2 Evagoras Papasavvas JHDD +0.6376s
3 Max Garcia Pabst Racing +1.1604s
4 Hudson Schwartz Pabst Racing +2.2529s
5 Joey Brienza Exclusive Autosport +2.7930s
6 Max Taylor VRD +3.1044s
7 Nico Christodoulou VRD +3.7134s
8 Nicolas Giaffone DEForce Racing +4.0613s
9 Quinn Armstrong DEForce Racing +4.9524s
10 Lucas Fecury DEForce Racing +5.3046s
11 Brady Golan DEForce Racing +6.0389s
12 Ayrton Houk DC Autosport +6.3359s
13 Elliot Cox SFHR +6.9707s
14 Xavier Kokai VRD +7.6500s
15 Tanner DeFabis JHDD +9.7088s
16 Maxwell Jamieson DEForce Racing +21.7869s
17 Michael Costello JHDD +2 laps
18 Thomas Schrage Exclusive Autosport +3 laps
19 Cole Kleck DD Autosport +7 laps
20 Carson Etter DC Autosport +7 laps
Fastest lap: Christodoulou, 1m35.6070s

Championship standings
 Garcia 119   Papasavvas 98   3 Corry 97   4 Brienza 64   5 Cox 57   6 Armstrong 53   7 Christodoulou 52   8 Schwartz 47   9 Taylor 41   10 Houk 40