Home Formula 2 Cordeel ends Formula 2 in-season testing on top of final session

Cordeel ends Formula 2 in-season testing on top of final session

by Alejandro Alonso Lopez

Photo: Formula Motorsport Ltd

Hitech GP driver Amaury Cordeel topped a long-run-focused last session of Formula 2’s in-season testing at Barcelona.

Trident’s Roman Stanek was the first driver on top with a laptime 1m25.933s as few drivers took the track in the first half-an-hour.

Then Cordeel headed out for a qualifying simulation on a new set of the soft compound tyres. He went fastest clocking a lap of 1m24.487s.

The session progressed with most drivers out on track completing race runs, lapping regularly over 1m30s.

Temperatures were higher than in the morning but still far from representative of what will be expected for June’s race weekend, so much of the running was teams trying different configurations instead of doing a proper full race simulation.

PHM Racing’s Joshua Duerksen was able to join the track after his morning crash with over one hour of running time remaining. The Paraguayan also did a qualifying run as the session entered its last hour, setting a lap 0.381 seconds off the pace.

He was the only driver to lap within a second of Cordeel’s time. Rodin Motorsport duo Ritomo Miyata and Zane Maloney were two of three other drivers within two seconds of the pace, sandwiching Stanek’s early time.

As well as setting the fastest time, Cordeel also recorded the most laps during the session, with 65. On the other hand, his team-mate Paul Aron could not take part in the session at all due to the extensive damage his car sustained in his accident in the morning.

Afternoon session results
Pos Driver Team Time Gaps Laps
1 Amaury Cordeel Hitech GP 1m24.487s 65
2 Joshua Duerksen PHM Racing 1m24.868s +0.381s 27
3 Ritomo Miyata Rodin Motorsport 1m25.808s +1.321s 40
4 Roman Stanek Trident 1m25.933s +1.446s 52
5 Zane Maloney Rodin Motorsport 1m26.364s +1.877s 42
6 Franco Colapinto MP Motorsport 1m28.406s +3.919s 36
7 Kush Maini Virtuosi Racing 1m28.869s +4.382s 46
8 Zak O’Sullivan ART Grand Prix 1m29.008s +4.531s 54
9 Rafael Villagomez Van Amersfoort Racing 1m29.185s +4.698s 55
10 Gabriel Bortoleto Virtuosi Racing 1m29.414s +4.927s 52
11 Enzo Fittipaldi Van Amersfoort Racing 1m29.420s +4.933s 55
12 Jak Crawford DAMS 1m29.470s +4.989s 42
13 Isack Hadjar Campos Racing 1m29.636s +5.149s 54
14 Victor Martins ART Grand Prix 1m29.749s +5.262s 50
15 Andrea Kimi Antonelli Prema 1m29.828s +5.341s 51
16 Dennis Hauger MP Motorsport 1m29.919s +5.432s 24
17 Richard Verschoor Trident 1m29.932s +5.445s 39
18 Pepe Marti Campos Racing 1m29.974s +5.487s 64
19 Ollie Bearman Prema 1m29.997s +5.510s 60
20 Juan Manuel Correa DAMS 1m30.243s +5.756s 39
21 Taylor Barnard PHM Racing 1m31.396s +6.909s 29
22 Paul Aron Hitech GP No time