Home Featured Collet earns maiden Indy Nxt pole with Mid-Ohio track record

Collet earns maiden Indy Nxt pole with Mid-Ohio track record

by Bethonie Waring

Photo: Chris Owens

Caio Collet set a new track record at the repaved Mid-Ohio track as he took his first pole position in Indy Nxt.

The HMD Motorsports driver set a 1m10.2879s in the second qualifying group to knock Louis Foster off pole position after Andretti Global’s points leader had topped the first group.

Jacob Abel, who was just a tenth of a second slower than Collet, will line up third for Sunday’s race.

Foster immediately set the pace in group one ahead of Josh Pierson. He continued to slowly improve his laptimes, eventually beating Oliver Askew’s long-standing track record.

He ended qualifying with a personal best of 1m10.3072, which put him three tenths of a second ahead of HMD’s Callum Hedge who had jumped up to second place late on.

Group two was able to get onto the pace faster, with Abel and Collet quickly dropping into the 1m10s. It was late in the session when the latter dipped bettered Foster’s benchmark to claim pole.

Abel was second quickest in the group ahead of HMD’s Reece Gold. Early on, the group two drivers got bunched together while Gold managed to find space to run in clean air. It worked to his advantage as he was third fastest, placing him fifth on the grid. He will line up alongside Christian Brooks, who is contesting his second Indy Nxt event with HMD.

Jonathan Browne and Nolan Allaer were fourth quickest in their respective groups to make up the fourth row of the grid, ahead of Myles Rowe (whose car had to be repaired after practice) and Pierson.

Qualifying results
Pos Driver Team Group 1 Group 2 Laps
1 Caio Collet HMD Motorsports 1m10.2879s 10
2 Louis Foster Andretti Global 1m10.3072s 10
3 Jacob Abel Abel Motorsports 1m10.3890s 11
4 Callum Hedge HMD Motorsports 1m10.6302s 10
5 Reece Gold HMD Motorsports 1m10.4608s 10
6 Christian Brooks HMD Motorsports 1m10.6760s 10
7 Jonathan Browne HMD Motorsports 1m10.4656s 10
8 Nolan Allaer HMD Motorsports 1m10.8259s 10
9 Myles Rowe HMD Motorsports 1m10.5651s 10
10 Josh Pierson HMD Motorsports 1m10.8767s 10
11 Jamie Chadwick Andretti Global 1m10.6234s 10
12 Christian Bogle HMD Motorsports 1m11.0402s 10
13 Salvador de Alba Andretti Cape 1m10.7240s 10
14 Bryce Aron Andretti Global 1m11.1282s 10
15 Yuven Sundaramoorthy Abel Motorsports 1m10.7652s 10
16 Jordan Missig Abel Motorsports 1m11.1405s 10
17 James Roe Jr Andretti Global 1m10.8865s 10
18 Jack William Miller Miller Vinatieri Racing 1m11.3508s 10
19 Jagger Jones HMD Motorsports 1m10.9299s 10