Home Formula RegionalFRegional European Championship Colapinto clinches his first FREC win at Red Bull Ring

Colapinto clinches his first FREC win at Red Bull Ring

by Ida Wood

Photo: FRECA

Franco Colapinto converted pole position into victory in the first Formula Regional European Championship race of the weekend at the Red Bull Ring.

As in previous years, overtaking proved difficult with the Tatuus T-318 car and the order of the cars at the finish only had a few changes from the starting grid.

MP Motorsport driver Colapinto led from start to finish, with the two occasions where he looked under threat coming early on. At the start he had to chop across R-ace GP’s Hadrien David to prevent him from getting alongside for the first corner, then a safety car period that began the next lap – and caused by David’s team-mate Lena Buhler ploughing into JD Motorsport’s Tommy Smith at the Remus hairpin – where he had to fend off David again at the restart.

The fastest lap was traded between Colapinto and David before it bandied around the order as the top two preserved their tyres. In the second half of the race they upped the pace again though, with the gap between them swinging by more than half a second each lap and helping them pull away from Prema’s Paul Aron and Arden’s Alex Quinn.

A late crash for Alexandre Bardinon meant the race finished behind the safety car and closed the top four back together, ensuring Colapinto’s first win.

Points leader Gregoire Saucy finished fifth. Early on he fended off Gabriel Bortoleto, who eventually finished behind Michael Belov after being pressured into a mistake.

Behind them, William Alatalo, Zane Maloney and Isack Hadjar rounded out the points. Maloney passed Hadjar and Gabriele Mini at the first safety car restart, and the trio battled for most of the race along with Mari Boya who cleared Mini for 11th.

Race results (20 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Franco Colapinto MP Motorsport 32m37.860s
2 Hadrien David R-ace GP +0.288s
3 Paul Aron Prema +0.760s
4 Alex Quinn Arden +1.013s
5 Gregoire Saucy ART Grand Prix +3.627s
6 Michael Belov G4 Racing +1.586s
7 Gabriel Bortoleto FA Racing by MP +2.093s
8 William Alatalo Arden +3.187s
9 Zane Maloney R-ace GP +3.339s
10 Isack Hadjar R-ace GP +3.730s
11 Mari Boya Van Amersfoort Racing +3.971s
12 Gabriele Mini ART Grand Prix +4.217s
13 David Vidales Prema +4.909s
14 Dino Beganovic Prema +5.206s
15 Pietro Delli Guanti Monolite Racing +5.552s
16 Oliver Goethe MP Motorsport +5.864s
17 Patrik Pasma ART Grand Prix +6.503s
18 Andrea Rosso FA Racing by MP +6.674s
19 Lorenzo Fluxa Van Amersfoort Racing +7.116s
20 Nicola Marinangeli Arden +9.138s
21 Emidio Pesce DR Formula +10.558s
22 Francesco Pizzi Van Amersfoort Racing +10.879s
23 Elias Seppanen KIC Motorsport +11.781s
24 Eduardo Barrichello JD Motorsport +13.085s
25 Ido Cohen JD Motorsport +13.615s
26 Nico Gohler KIC Motorsport +14.821s
27 Axel Gnos G4 Racing +15.388s
28 Jose Garfias Monolite Racing +16.488s
29 Kas Haverkort MP Motorsport +2 laps
Ret Alexandre Bardinon FA Racing by MP
Ret Gianluca Petecof KIC Motorsport
Ret Tommy Smith JD Motorsport
Ret Lena Buhler R-ace GP
Fastest lap: Colapinto, 1m26.710s

Championship standings
Saucy 199   2 David 147   3 Maloney 126   4 Mini 109   5 Aron 109   6 Hadjar 102   7 Quinn 92   8 Alatalo 77   9 Colapinto 61   10 Pasma 55