Home News Christian Rasmussen takes sixth straight USF2000 win in Freedom 75

Christian Rasmussen takes sixth straight USF2000 win in Freedom 75

by Josh Suttill

Photo: Indianapolis Motor Speedway

Christian Rasmussen continued to dominate the 2020 USF2000 season with a commanding race victory in the Freedom 75 at Lucas Oil Raceway.

Polesitter Rasmussen led for 74 of the 75 lap contest to earn his first victory on an oval course by 6.4997 seconds.

The Jay Howard Driver Development driver lost the race lead on the opening lap to fellow front-row starter Reece Gold but snatched it back on the second lap and never let go of it it all the way to the chequered flag.

Gold was initially able to maintain pressure on Rasmussen in the early laps, but as the duo encountered traffic, it was Rasmussen who built an advantage.

“I had Jay (Howard) in my ear the entire race, telling me to slow down because I had a six-second lead,” Rasmussen said after the race.

“He wanted the win as much as me and he has so much experience, but I always want to push. But it’s hard to get around traffic on the oval, compared to the road courses. It’s a different style of driving.

“It’s a lot more car-dependent so overtaking and using the other lanes on the racetrack is really where the car’s balance comes in to play. It’s so important, so a huge shoutout to the team for making the car as great as it is. It’s amazing to drive, it’s so consistent.

“There’s still so much of the season left, we’re just taking it one race at a time, and so far it’s been a lot of first places. We’re six for six. I matched my boss’ win streak! Hopefully, we can beat it at the next race.”

Gold took his fourth consecutive podium finish of the season whilst Jack William Miller passed Michael d’Orlando, Rasmussen’s closest rival in the points, with 10 laps to go to secure the final place on the podium

D’Orlando was forced to settle for fourth place ahead of the highest-placed USF2000 rookie Christian Brooks.

Fellow rookie Josh Green was sixth ahead of British ace Matt Round-Garrido.

Race results (75 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Christian Rasmussen Jay Howard Driver Development 29m14.6763s
2 Reece Gold Cape Motorsports +6.4997s
3 Jack William Miller Miller Vinatieri Motorsports +6.8817s
4 Michael d’Orlando Cape Motorsports +7.2151s
5 Christian Brooks Exclusive Autosports +7.4732s
6 Josh Green Cape Motorsports +12.0182s
7 Matt Round-Garrido Pabst Racing +12.8660s
8 Kyle Dupell Cape Motorsports +16.8135s
9 Yuven Sundaramoorthy Pabst Racing +19.4756s
10 Eduardo Barrichello Pabst Racing +22.5454s
11 Nolan Siegel Jay Howard Driver Development +22.7503s
12 Cameron Shields Legacy Autosport +23.7572s
13 Prescott Campbell Exclusive Autosport +1 lap
14 Kiko Porto DEForce Racing +1 lap
15 Max Kaeser Miller Vinatieri Motorsports +1 lap
16 Christian Bogle Jay Howard Driver Development +1 lap
17 Bijoy Garg Jay Howard Driver Development +1 lap
18 Wyatt Brichacek Jay Howard Driver Development +2 laps
19 Josh Pierson Exclusive Autosport +2 laps
Fastest lap: Gold, 108.755mph

Championship standings
Rasmussen 211   2 d’Orlando 126   Gold 124   4 Barrichello 107   5 Green 101   6 Round-Garrido 97   7 Brooks 91   8 Dupell 79   9 Sundaramoorthy 71   10 Miller 70