Home Featured Campos’s Boschung fastest on second morning of F2 test

Campos’s Boschung fastest on second morning of F2 test

by Ida Wood

Photo: Formula Motorsport Limited

Campos Racing’s Ralph Boschung was the pacesetter in the morning session on day two of Formula 2’s post-season Bahrain test.

DAMS’ Marcus Armstrong was first to set a sub-2m00s lap, before 2020 championship runner-up Callum Ilott braved it out as the first to attempt a flying lap for Charouz Racing System.

Just 12 minutes into the three-hour session, Boschung set a 1m43.4s and that stood as the best lap for a 10 minutes before ART Grand Prix’s Theo Pourchaire and Christian Lundgaard went faster in quick succession.

Carlin’s day one pacesetter Jehan Daruvala got close to that at the half-hour mark, but moments later Boschung – who returned to F2 with Campos last weekend ahead of a full 2021 campaign – went faster again with a 1m42.244s.

For the next two hours Boschung and Daruvala sat at the top of the timesheet, with Hitech GP’s Liam Lawson and Juri Vips eventually slotting into third and fourth behind them.

With 10 minutes to go, Prema’s Robert Shwartzman was still yet to set a flying lap, and his team-mate Oscar Piastri had only set one at the very start of the session to they propped up the order. Similarly, Virtuosi Racing’s Guanyu Zhou was late to set his first flying lap, running at a slower pace for 37 laps before going full beans.

Lundgaard’s early benchmark was still good enough for fifth place at this point, ahead of Felipe Drugovich (Virtuosi), Armstrong, Dan Ticktum (Carlin), Roy Nissany (DAMS) and freshly-announced Formula 1 test debutant Marino Sato (Trident). When the clock ticked down to zero, the picture remained the same.

Test results

Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Ralph Boschung Campos Racing 1m42.244s 33
2 Jehan Daruvala Carlin 1m42.271s +0.027s 43
3 Liam Lawson Hitech GP 1m42.337s +0.093s 35
4 Juri Vips Hitech GP 1m42.550s +0.306s 30
5 Christian Lundgaard ART Grand Prix 1m42.819s +0.575s 32
6 Felipe Drugovich Virtuosi Racing 1m42.931s +0.687s 45
7 Marcus Armstrong DAMS 1m42.961s +0.717s 39
8 Dan Ticktum Carlin 1m43.018s +0.774s 44
9 Roy Nissany DAMS 1m43.082s +0.838s 36
10 Marino Sato Trident 1m43.095s +0.851s 41
11 Logan Sargeant Campos Racing 1m43.099s +0.855s 42
12 Theo Pourchaire ART Grand Prix 1m43.117s +0.873s 33
13 Clement Novalak Trident 1m43.277s +1.033s 22
14 David Beckmann Charouz Racing System 1m43.316s +1.072s 37
15 Louis Deletraz MP Motorsport 1m43.464s +1.220s 41
16 Guilherme Samaia Charouz Racing System 1m43.718s +1.474s 38
17 Matteo Nannini HWA Racelab 1m43.855s +1.611s 28
18 Lirim Zendeli MP Motorsport 1m44.650s +2.406s 44
19 Roberto Merhi HWA Racelab 1m45.844s +3.600s 17
20 Guanyu Zhou Virtuosi Racing 1m47.579s +5.335s 53
21 Oscar Piastri Prema 1m48.139s +5.895s 46
22 Robert Shwartzman Prema 2m03.206s +20.962s 31