Home Formula RegionalFRegional European Championship Camara dominates qualifying for FREC’s second Zandvoort race

Camara dominates qualifying for FREC’s second Zandvoort race

by Ida Wood

Photo: Prema

Prema’s Rafael Camara took pole by over half a second in qualifying for the second Formula Regional European Championship race at Zandvoort.

Camara was part of Group A, which went out after Group B and had a grippier track.

Group B’s running began with Sainteloc Racing’s Theophile Nael initially setting the pace. R-ace GP’s Tuukka Taponen and Trident’s Niko Lacorte spent time at the top before Sainteloc’s Enzo Peugeot set the first lap at a representative pace seven minutes in.

His 1m31.854s put him 0.277 seconds ahead of R-ace’s Zachary David, then shortly after ART Grand Prix’s Alessandro Giusti lowered the pace by 0.022s and his team-mate Evan Giltaire rose to third place.

G4 Racing’s Kanato Le then got himself into fourth, but was shuffled down to fifth 40s later as Taponen set a 1m31.209s to go fastest.

KIC Motorsport’s Alex Sawer then spun, but it did not disrupt the session, and Prema’s Ugo Ugochukwu got within 0.062s of Taponen while Giltaire improved to be 0.146s behind in fourth.

The next change at the top came with just over four minutes remaining, as Giusti pipped Taponen by 0.003s. Peugeot was 0.138s behind in fourth as he set a new personal best.

A minute later Van Amersfoort Racing’s Brando Badoer jumped from first to seventh, edging Giusti by 0.006s.

Badoer’s position at the top of the group was secured when session-ending red flags waved with 110s to go as KIC’s Nandhavud Bhirombhakdi lost his front wing and went into the barriers. Just 0.071s covered the top four, and 0.155s split the top six.

Camara was fastest from the off in Group A, then R-ace’s Enzo Deligny became the driver to beat.

MP Motorsport’s Valerio Rinicella moved to the top approaching the session’s halfway mark, setting a 1m32.253s, with G4 Racing’s Romain Andriolo getting within 0.073s of his benchmark.

VAR’s Pedro Clerot and Race Performance Motorsport’s Noah Stromsted beat Rinicella by 0.198s and 0.139s respectively, and 15s later there was big gains as Deligny set a 1m31.669s and Camara then claimed provisional pole with a 1m30.597s.

That laptime would go unbeaten, with team-mate James Wharton immediately getting within 0.667s of it then reducing the gap to 0.576s but improving no further in the last four minutes.

Sainteloc’s Matteo De Palo, MP’s Nikhil Bohra and Clerot took turns in third place before Stromsted got within 0.665s of the pole time to secure what would be fourth on the grid since an unsafe rejoin the previous day meant Wharton had a three-place grid penalty.

VAR’s Ivan Domingues was fifth fastest in the group, behind Clerot and ahead of Deligny, with G4’s Jesse Carrasquedo and Bohra also within a second of pole.

Qualifying results
Pos Driver Team Group B Group A
1 Rafael Camara Prema 1m30.597s
2 Brando Badoer Van Amersfoort Racing 1m31.200s
3 Alessandro Giusti ART Grand Prix 1m31.206s
4 Noah Stromsted R-P-M 1m31.262s
5 Tuukka Taponen R-ace GP 1m31.209s
6 James Wharton Prema 1m31.173s
7 Pedro Clerot Van Amersfoort Racing 1m31.322s
8 Ugo Ugochukwu Prema 1m31.271s
9 Ivan Domingues Van Amersfoort Racing 1m31.418s
10 Enzo Peugeot Sainteloc Racing 1m31.344s
11 Enzo Deligny R-ace GP 1m31.493s
12 Evan Giltaire ART Grand Prix 1m31.355s
13 Jesse Carrasquedo Jr G4 Racing 1m31.554s
14 Zachary David R-ace GP 1m31.469s
15 Nikhil Bohra MP Motorsport 1m31.569s
16 Theophile Nael Sainteloc Racing 1m31.734s
17 Matteo De Palo Sainteloc Racing 1m31.615s
18 Kanato Le G4 Racing 1m31.849s
19 Nikita Bedrin MP Motorsport 1m31.709s
20 Niko Lacorte Trident 1m32.076s
21 John Bennett KIC Motorsport 1m31.767s
22 Ruiqi Liu Trident 1m32.097s
23 Valerio Rinicella MP Motorsport 1m31.818s
24 Giovanni Maschio R-P-M 1m32.544s
25 Edgar Pierre R-P-M 1m31.897s
26 Lena Buhler ART Grand Prix 1m33.156s
27 Romain Andriolo G4 Racing 1m32.115s
28 Alex Sawer KIC Motorsport 1m33.289s
29 Yaroslav Veselaho ART Grand Prix 1m32.575s
30 Nandhavud Bhirombhakdi KIC Motorsport 1m33.778s
31 Marta Garcia Iron Dames 1m32.585s