Home News Al Azhari completes clean sweep of Spanish F4 poles at Algarve

Al Azhari completes clean sweep of Spanish F4 poles at Algarve

by Ida Wood

Photo: Spanish F4

Keanu Al Azhari made it three poles out of three in Spanish Formula 4’s second qualifying session at Algarve.

The MP Motorsport driver claimed pole for the weekend’s first two races in Q1 on Saturday, and on Sunday morning topped Q2 by just 0.065 seconds over Campos Racing’s Nathan Tye.

Monlau Motorsport’s Rehan Hakim was the surprise early pacesetter in Q2 with a 1m50.813s lap, and it stood as the benchmark until with just over 11 minutes left of the sesion he was demoted to eighth (having already pitted).

Tecnicar Motorsport’s Gustaw Wisniewski took over at the top, setting a 1m46.108s to lead Drivex School’s Mikkel Pederse by 0.589 seconds and Cram Motorsport duo Adam Hideg and Filippo Fiorentino by 0.788s and 0.94s.

Wisniewski’s own team-mate Lorenzo Castillo reduced his advantage to 0.423s, then Monlau’s Tim Gerhards slashed it further to 0.196s.

With 10 minutes to go Campos’s Jan Przyrowski lowered the pace to 1m45.644s, and a minute after that Drivex’s Juan Cota had set a new 1m44.907s benchmark while Tecnicar’s Wiktor Dobrzanski got into second with a laptime 0.398s slower than Cota’s.

Przyrowski reclaimed top spot with a 1m44.396s, and Rodin Motorsport’s Thomas Strauven had just got within 0.003s of that when red flags waved with eight minutes left on the clock due to TC Racing’s Cristian Cantu getting beached in the gravel at turn five.

The session clock was paused, and there was 0.964s covering the top nine when action resumed.

Campos’s James Egozi went third fastest with four-and-a-half minutes to go, but a few seconds later team-mates Enzo Tarnvanichkul and Tye beat him by a narrow margin.

Griffin Peebles slotted between those two a minute later, 0.327s off the pace, then with less than two-and-a-half minutes remaining Przyrowski improved to 1m44.285s but was knocked off top spot as Strauven set a 1m44.180s and Tye set a 1m44.277s. Tarnvanichkul and Peebles also improved in fourth and fifth, with Campos’s Andres Cardenas jumping up to sixth.

MP’s points leader Lucas Fluxa took over that position a minute later, then in the last minute Egozi went to the top with a 1m44.147s with his team-mate Ernesto Rivera just 0.028s slower than him.

Strauven responded with a 1m43.982s to reclaim pole, Tye matched Rivera, and Przyrowski improved in fifth. Al Azhari was 13th, but with 18s to go snatched pole by setting a 1m43.915s while Peebles set a personal best in sixth.

MP’s Mattia Colnaghi demoted him to seventh before the finish, and after the chequered flag Tye moved up to second.

Qualifying results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Keanu Al Azhari MP Motorsport 1m43.915s 10
2 Nathan Tye Campos Racing 1m43.980s +0.065s 10
3 Thomas Strauven Rodin Motorsport 1m43.982s +0.067s 10
4 James Egozi Campos Racing 1m44.078s +0.163s 10
5 Ernesto Rivera Campos Racing 1m44.175s +0.260s 10
6 Mattia Colnaghi MP Motorsport 1m44.184s +0.269s 10
7 Giriffin Peebles MP Motorsport 1m44.189s +0.274s 10
8 Jan Przyrowski Campos Racing 1m44.275s +0.360s 10
9 Enzo Tarnvanichkul Campos Racing 1m44.299s +0.384s 10
10 Lucas Fluxa MP Motorsport 1m44.302s +0.387s 10
11 Douwe Dedecker Global Racing Service 1m44.324s +0.409s 10
12 Rene Lammers MP Motorsport 1m44.340s +0.425s 10
13 Andres Cardenas Campos Racing 1m44.452s +0.537s 10
14 Peter Bouzinelos Rodin Motorsport 1m44.493s +0.578s 9
15 Maciej Gladyz MP Motorsport 1m44.501s +0.586s 10
16 Francisco Macedo Drivex School 1m44.513s +0.598s 10
17 Matteo Quintarelli Sainteloc Racing 1m44.522s +0.607s 10
18 Juan Cota Drivex School 1m44.549s +0.634s 10
19 Gabriel Gomez TC Racing 1m44.614s +0.699s 10
20 Lenny Ried Monlau Motorsport 1m44.657s +0.742s 11
21 Yevan David Sainteloc Racing 1m44.769s +0.854s 9
22 Mikkel Pedersen Drivex School 1m44.799s +0.884s 10
23 Gustaw Wisniewski Tecnicar Motorsport 1m44.823s +0.908s 10
24 Maxi Restrepo Sainteloc Racing 1m44.908s +0.993s 9
25 Filippo Fiorentino Cram Motorsport 1m44.946s +1.031s 10
26 Adam Hideg Cram Motorsport 1m44.960s +1.045s 10
27 Tim Gerhards Monlau Motorsport 1m44.961s +1.046s 11
28 Preston Lambert Rodin Motorsport 1m45.012s +1.097s 10
29 Lorenzo Castillo Tecnicar Motorsport 1m45.197s +1.282s 10
30 Wiktor Dobrzanski Tecnicar Motorsport 1m45.305s +1.390s 10
31 Lia Block Global Racing Service 1m45.308s +1.393s 10
32 Alexander Jacoby Global Racing Service 1m45.337s +1.422s 10
33 Matus Ryba Drivex School 1m45.416s +1.501s 10
34 Rehan Hakim Monlau Motorsport 1m45.482s +1.567s 11
35 Cristian Cantu TC Racing 1m47.059s +3.144s 3