Home Z - Archive seriesBritish F3 Bryant-Meisner dominates chaotic opener

Bryant-Meisner dominates chaotic opener

by Valentin Khorounzhiy

Photo: British F3 International Series

The disconnection of his car’s boost did little to prevent John Bryant-Meisner from running away from the field during the British F3 race one at Silverstone.

The Swede got away cleanly, while mayhem unfolded behind him. Fellow front row starter Jordan King found himself spinning off-track, while Felix Serralles and Nicholas Latifi collided, ruining each other’s race.

As Bryant-Meisner was dissapearing in the distance, Will Buller found himself having to defend from Carlin’s Jann Mardenborough for second, but was given plenty room to breathe when Mardenborough spun out on lap ten and subsequently ended up retiring in another couple of laps. Felipe Guimaraes drove a quiet, accident-free race to finish in third, ahead of the Double R trio – Sean Gelael, Tatiana Calderon and Antonio Giovinazzi, who was given mutliple penalties for not respecting track limits. King eventually ended up retiring, while Serralles and Latifi finished a lap down on the leader.

In the National Class, Ed Jones had to fight through the field after a dreadful opening lap, but eventually came out as the winner. Sun Zheng was second in class, securing reverse-grid pole, while Cameron Twynham finished as the third National driver.

Race results
Pos. Driver Team Cl. Time/Gap
1 John Bryant-Meisner Performance Racing INV 16 laps in 31:07.288
2 William Buller Fortec INT 16.533
3 Felipe Guimar?es Fortec INT 25.163
4 Sean Gelael Double R Racing INT 39.513
5 Tatiana Calderon Double R Racing INT 40.142
6 Antonio Giovinazzi Double R Racing INT 51.888
7 Ed Jones Team West-Tec NAT 1:14.231
8 Sun Zheng CF Racing NAT 1:19.965
9 Cameron Twynham Team West-Tec NAT 1:21.589
10 Roberto La Rocca Team West-Tec NAT 1:30.791
11 Liam Venter Team West-Tec NAT 1:44.342
12 Huan Zhu Team West-Tec NAT 1:55.203
13 Felix Serralles Fortec INT +1 lap
14 Nicholas Latifi Carlin INT +1 lap
15 Sean Walkinshaw Team West-Tec NAT +2 laps
16 Jann Mardenborough Carlin INT +2 laps
Not classified
Alice Powell MBR NAT +3 laps
Jordan King Carlin INT +6 laps
Chris Vlok Team West-Tec NAT +12 laps