Home Featured Browning returns to the FIA F3 lead with Austria feature race win

Browning returns to the FIA F3 lead with Austria feature race win

by Bethonie Waring

Photo: Formula Motorsport Ltd

Luke Browning reclaimed the FIA Formula 3 Championship lead with victory in the Red Bull Ring feature race.

The Williams junior resisted pressure from Dino Beganovic to convert pole position into his second win of 2024. The battle for second in the closing laps allowed him to pull out of DRS range and he finished 1.6 seconds clear of Gabriele Mini.

Beganovic took second early on and was able to stick with the race leader. However, he never had much of a gap to Prema team-mate Mini and, when racing resumed after a brief virtual safety car period, he came under pressure from behind.

Beganovic was briefly able to close back in on Hitech GP driver Browning, but he could not find a way past. He slipped back into an intense battle with Mini and ART Grand Prix’s Christian Mansell, allowing Browning to escape up the road.

The battle for second continued to the chequered flag. Beganovic and Mini swapped places multiple times, with Mansell also able to get alongside the duo. Mini came through on the final lap to take the position, and Beganovic held off Mansell to finish on the podium.

Throughout the battle, Campos Racing’s Oliver Goethe and MP Motorsport’s Alex Dunne were never far behind. They finished fifth and sixth on-track, but an eventful race for Dunne meant he was classified 10th.

He had climbed up from ninth on the grid into the lead fight. Along the way, he made contact with Prema’s Arvid Lindblad, who started second but could not keep pace with the race leaders. The contact resulted in a time penalty for Dunne while Lindblad continued to slip down the order. He would be classified seventh, behind ART GP’s Nikola Tsolov.

Dunne was not the only driver in the top 10 to be penalised. Tim Tramnitz crossed the line just behind Lindblad, but was classified 15th following a penalty for an early incident. He had been battling Campos’s Sebastian Montoya when the two came together, damaging Montoya’s car. He was able to make it to the pits but retired. 

His team-mate Mari Boya and AIX Racing’s Nikita Bedrin also had a coming together, causing Bedrin to spin over the kerbs and retire. Bedrin’s stranded car was the cause of the VSC period, and Boya was penalised.

With timings corrected, it was Laurens van Hoepen who took eighth (and also gained the fastest lap point by finishing in the top 10) ahead of pre-race points leader Leonardo Fornaroli, who climbed up from 24th on the grid.

Race results (26 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Luke Browning Hitech GP 37m22.286s
2 Gabriele Mini Prema +1.685s
3 Dino Beganovic Prema +2.154s
4 Christian Mansell ART Grand Prix +2.568s
5 Oliver Goethe Campos Racing +3.172s
6 Nikola Tsolov ART Grand Prix +7.103s
7 Arvid Lindblad Prema +7.803s
8 Laurens van Hoepen ART Grand Prix +9.912s
9 Leonardo Fornaroli Trident +10.280s
10 Alex Dunne MP Motorsport +13.453s
11 Sophia Floersch Van Amersfoort Racing +13.877s
12 Martinius Stenshorne Hitech GP +14.097s
13 Santiago Ramos Trident +14.568s
14 Matias Zagazeta Jenzer Motorsport +17.918s
15 Tim Tramnitz MP Motorsport +18.356s
16 Kacper Sztuka MP Motorsport +21.323s
17 Max Esterson Jenzer Motorsport +22.259s
18 Mari Boya Campos Racing +28.984s
19 Piotr Wisnicki Rodin Motorsport +30.171s
20 Sami Meguetounif Trident +33.932s
21 Cian Shields Hitech GP +38.975s
22 Tommy Smith Van Amersfoort Racing +41.837s
23 Noel Leon Van Amersfoort Racing +47.633s
24 Joseph Loake Rodin Motorsport +1m00.601s
25 Callum Voisin Rodin Motorsport +1m16.678s
26 Tasanapol Inthraphuvasak AIX Racing +1m22.062s
27 Charlie Wurz Jenzer Motorsport +1 lap
Ret Nikita Bedrin AIX Racing
Ret Joshua Dufek AIX Racing
Ret Sebastian Montoya Campos Racing
Fastest lap: Wisnicki, 1m23.359s

Championship standings
Browning 106   2 Mini 95   3 Fornaroli 86   4 Beganovic 80   5 Mansell 78   6 Lindblad 77   7 Goethe 77   8 Tramnitz 47   9 Van Hoepen 47   10 Tsolov 44