Home Featured Boya takes maiden F3 win in Barcelona after Trident pair collide

Boya takes maiden F3 win in Barcelona after Trident pair collide

by Bethonie Waring

Photo: Formula Motorsport Ltd

Mari Boya claimed his maiden victory in the FIA Formula 3 Championship at home in Barcelona, but a number of false start investigations left the rest of the results provisional.

Alex Dunne finished the race second on track after challenging Boya for the victory, but a late announcement revealed he would be one of many drivers to be investigated for a false start.

Boya had no such problems. The Campos Racing driver took the lead of the race early on after an incident between front row starters Santiago Ramos and Sami Meguetounif. The pair had been battling for position when Meguetounif ran slightly wide and made contact with Ramos as he returned to the track. Maguetounif was left stranded in the gravel while Ramos limped back to the pits.

Just behind them, Callum Voisin and Nikita Bedrin also had an incident at the same place, leaving three cars for marshals to clear.

Boya inherited the race lead ahead of Dunne and Oliver Goethe as the safety car came out.

The Campos Racing driver got a clean get away on the restart, with most of the battle happening further down the top 10. He couldn’t shake Dunne, though, and the McLaren junior driver made several attempts to find a way past. The battle allowed Goethe to close in, briefly making it a three way fight for the lead before Boya began to pull away.

Late in the race, Gabriel Mini and Sebastian Montoya came together. Montoya had been charging his way up through the field after losing his qualifying time and starting from the tail end of the grid. He was side by side with Mini when slight contact damaged Mini’s car, causing him to lose control. Mini was sent into the side of Montoya and both were wiped out of the race.

With only a handful of laps remaining, the race ended behind the safety car. Boya took the victory, his first in the series, with Dunne close behind on track.

Goethe finished third ahead of Martinius Stenshorne, who took fourth from Laurens van Hoepen after the first safety car.

Van Hoepen stayed with Stenshorne and the pair were joined by Noel Leon and Arvid Lindblad in the main battle after the first safety car restart. Leon took sixth, while Lindblad fell back behind Leonardo Fornaroli and Dino Beganovic. 

Tim Tramnitz completed the top 10, with Christian Mansell and Luke Browning just behind.

Race results (21 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Mari Boya Campos Racing 28m11.211s
2 Alex Dunne MP Motorsport +0.453s
3 Oliver Goethe Campos Racing +0.828s
4 Martinius Stenshorne Hitech GP +1.068s
5 Laurens van Hoepen ART Grand Prix +1.263s
6 Noel Leon Van Amersfoort Racing +1.735s
7 Leonardo Fornaroli Trident +1.893s
8 Dino Beganovic Prema +2.197s
9 Arvid Lindblad Prema +2.698s
10 Tim Tramnitz MP Motorsport +2.964s
11 Christian Mansell ART Grand Prix +3.111s
12 Luke Browning Hitech GP +3.375s
13 Nikola Tsolov ART Grand Prix +3.936s
14 Cian Shields Hitech GP +4.213s
15 Joseph Loake Rodin Motorsport +4.652s
16 Charlie Wurz Jenzer Motorsport +4.982s
17 Joshua Dufek AIX Racing +5.287s
18 Tommy Smith Van Amersfoort Racing +5.787s
19 Matias Zagazeta Jenzer Motorsport +6.938s
20 Sophia Floersch Van Amersfoort Racing +7.117s
21 Santiago Ramos Trident +7.370s
22 Max Esterson Jenzer Motorsport +7.849s
23 Kacper Sztuka MP Motorsport +8.556s
24 Piotr Wisnicki Rodin Motorsport +8.760s
25 Tasanapol Inthraphuvasak AIX Racing +16.556s
Ret Gabriele Mini Prema
Ret Sebastian Montoya Campos Racing
Ret Sami Meguetounif Trident
Ret Callum Voisin Rodin Motorsport
Ret Nikita Bedrin AIX Racing
Fastest lap: Fornaroli, 1m32.402s

Championship standings
 Mini 72   2 Fornaroli 69   3 Browning 68   4 Beganovic 61   5 Goethe 51   5 Lindblad 46   7 Tramnitz 44   8 Boya 40   8 Meguetounif 38   10 Mansell 38