Home Formula RegionalEurocup-3 Boya leads MP 1-2-3 after Eurocup-3 leader Masson gets penalty

Boya leads MP 1-2-3 after Eurocup-3 leader Masson gets penalty

by Ida Wood

Photo: Eurocup-3

MP Motorsport had the perfect afternoon at Estoril on Sunday as they clinched a lockout of the podium in Eurocup-3 race two.

It was an all-Campos fight for pole in the morning, with Esteban Masson and Tasanapol Inthraphuvasak continually trading top spot. Eventually Inthraphuvasak came out on top, his final lap putting him back ahead of Masson by 0.248 seconds.

MP’s Mari Boya was a further 0.041s slower in third place, and his team-mate Bruno del Pino went fourth fastest with his final lap. Sebastian Ogaard, Masson’s closest title rival, was half a second off the pace in fifth.

Boya made the strongest start in the race but the two Campos drivers ahead immediately swept to the inside to cover him off. At turn one Masson moved back to the outside and overtook his team-mate at turn two, while Boya demoted Inthraphuvasak at Curva VIP.

Masson already had a 1.8s lead at the end of lap one, and was three seconds clear of Boya on lap four when the safety car was summoned due to Jorge Campos beaching his car on a kerb after a clash with Daniel Mavlyutov.

The restart did not take place until lap eight, and Masson left it as late as possible to return to racing speeds. He weaved multiple times down the pit straight before accelerating, and was put under investigation by the stewards.

Inthraphuvasak was passed by Sebastian Ogaard and then Bruno del Pino as he went off track twice, while Masson streaked away again. He built a lead of 1.2s, but then that started to be reduced by Boya and he was only a third of a second ahead when he served a drive-through penalty at the end of lap 13.

That left Boya comfortably at the front of an MP 1-2-3-4, until the last lap when Inthraphuvasak reclaimed fourth from del Pino. Jose Garfias finished third, having passed Javier Sagrera early on and then del Pino and Inthraphuvasak mid-race.

Masson recovered one spot after exiting the pits in 15th, but his non-score means his championship lead over Ogaard has now been reduced to five points. Boya is one further point behind.

Race result (18 laps)
Pos Driver Team Gap
1 Mari Boya MP Motorsport 32m21.232s
2 Sebastian Ogaard MP Motorsport +6.111s
3 Jose Garfias MP Motorsport +6.796s
4 Tasanapol Inthraphuvasak Campos Racing +11.955s
5 Bruno del Pino MP Motorsport +13.195s
6 Javier Sagrera Palou Motorsport +16.648s
7 Francesco Braschi Campos Racing +17.392s
8 Nick Gilkes Drivex School +17.997s
9 Sebastian Gravlund MP Motorsport +19.555s
10 Dario Cabanelas Sainteloc Racing +22.073s
11 Emmo Fittipaldi GRS +22.352s
12 Suleiman Zanfari Campos Racing +24.897s
13 Daniel Nogales Drivex School +25.677s
14 Esteban Masson Campos Racing +32.297s
15 Daniel Mavlyutov GRS +38.176s
16 Miron Pingasov Palou Motorsport +1 lap
Ret Jorge Campos Palou Motorsport
Pole: Inthraphuvasak, 1m34.563s   Fastest lap: Boya, 1m35.166s

Championship standings
1 Masson 179   2 Ogaard 174   3 Boya 173   4 Braschi 138   5 Garfias 112   6 Sagrera 89   7 Inthraphuvasak 86   8 del Pino 75   9 Nikola Tsolov 42   10 Zanfari 37