Home Featured Boya back on top at Barcelona in wet-to-dry test session for F3

Boya back on top at Barcelona in wet-to-dry test session for F3

by Alejandro Alonso Lopez

Photo: Formula Motorsport Ltd

Campos Racing’s Mari Boya topped the final morning of FIA Formula 3 in-season testing at Barcelona, in a session that started wet and finished dry.

However, the Spaniard did not beat his benchmark of 1m26.646s from the previous day, which remains the fastest lap of the test.

Overnight showers meant the track was wet when the day’s action began. Therefore, drivers seized the opportunity to clock some laps on grooved tyres.

ART Grand Prix’s Christian Mansell was the first to set a representative laptime, a 1m42.018s, which was soon lowered.

The pace improved as the track dried out with almost all the cars on it. Trident’s Leonardo Fornaroli broke the 1m40s barrier 20 minutes into the session.

Further improvements were made in the following minutes. The fastest lap on wet compound tyres was a 1m37.131s by Hitech GP’s Luke Browning, with Prema’s Dino Beganovic and Trident’s Sami Meguetounif half a second and seventh tenths of a second off that pace respectively in second and third place.

MP Motorsport’s Tim Tramnitz was the first driver to switch to the hard compound slick tyres, 40 minutes in, followed by team-mate Kacper Sztuka. Browning and PHM Racing’s Tasanapol Inthraphuvasak meanwhile kept clocking laps on grooved tyres as they aimed to learn as much as possible about the crossover conditions.

Tramnitz brought the pace down to 1m33.922s and then 1m31.175s. After that, several other drivers took the track and improved, with Boya topping the times with a 1m30.760s at the end of the first hour of running.

Little action followed in the next half-hour. But as the track continued to dry out, drivers who did go out were able to set personal bests in the 1m29s. Prema’s Arvid Lindblad was the reference for a while with a 1m29.564s, before Van Amersfoort Racing’s Noel Leon bettered him by 0.324 seconds.

More running took place in the last hour and drivers fitted new tyres as temperatures rose and the track improved further. Boya and team-mate Oliver Goethe went one-two as they completed a first qualifying simulation, and MP’s Alex Dunne went third fastest.

Browning was fourth, then improved his best lap by one tenth of a second to be third after his second performance run. Significant improvements from Prema’s Lindblad and Gabriele Mini meant they rounded off the top five and shuffled Dunne down to sixth.

Morning session results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Mari Boya Campos Racing 1m27.034s   33
2 Oliver Goethe Campos Racing 1m27.107s +0.073s 27
3 Luke Browning Hitech GP 1m27.435s +0.401s 43
4 Arvid Lindblad Prema 1m27.448s +0.414s 40
5 Gabriele Mini Prema 1m27.565s +0.531s 35
6 Alex Dunne MP Motorsport 1m27.579s +0.545s 36
7 Santiago Ramos Trident 1m27.624s +0.590s 30
8 Dino Beganovic Prema 1m27.645s +0.611s 40
9 Tim Tramnitz MP Motorsport 1m27.665s +0.631s 34
10 Laurens van Hoepen ART Grand Prix 1m27.786s +0.752s 36
11 Martinius Stenshorne Hitech GP 1m27.844s +0.810s 41
12 Christian Mansell ART Grand Prix 1m27.902s +0.868s 35
13 Sebastian Montoya Campos Racing 1m27.919s +0.885s 31
14 Charlie Wurz Jenzer Motorsport 1m27.998s +0.964s 29
15 Sophia Floersch Van Amersfoort Racing 1m28.007s +0.973s 34
16 Nikola Tsolov ART Grand Prix 1m28.110s +1.076s 39
17 Max Esterson Jenzer Motorsport 1m28.174s +1.140s 32
18 Matias Zagazeta Jenzer Motorsport 1m28.319s +1.285s 32
19 Cian Shields Hitech GP 1m28.325s +1.291s 43
20 Kacper Sztuka MP Motorsport 1m28.374s +1.340s 41
21 Joseph Loake Rodin Motorsport 1m28.448s +1.414s 43
22 Tommy Smith Van Amersfoort Racing 1m28.497s +1.463s 35
23 Piotr Wisnicki Rodin Motorsport 1m28.533s +1.499s 37
24 Nikita Bedrin PHM Racing 1m28.570s +1.536s 40
25 Tasanapol Inthraphuvasak PHM Racing 1m28.653s +1.619s 40
26 Noel Leon Van Amersfoort Racing 1m28.775s +1.741s 35
27 Joshua Dufek PHM Racing 1m28.794s +1.760s 38
28 Callum Voisin Rodin Motorsport 1m30.083s +3.049s 38
29 Leonardo Fornaroli Trident 1m31.109s +4.075s 35
30 Sami Meguetounif Trident 1m31.638s +4.604s 19