Home Formula RegionalFRegional European Championship Bortoleto fastest in FREC before rain arrives at Paul Ricard test

Bortoleto fastest in FREC before rain arrives at Paul Ricard test

by Ida Wood

Photo: FRECA

R-ace GP’s Gabriel Bortoleto was the pacesetter on day two of Formula Regional European Championship testing at Paul Ricard before rain hit the circuit.

The Brazilian set the fastest lap, 1m58.850s, in the middle of the morning session and had a comfortable gap of 0.378 seconds to next best Matias Zagazeta of G4 Racing.

Only seven drivers lapped within a second of his pace before track conditions worsened, with Van Amersfoort Racing’s Joshua Dufek 0.535s back in third.

Prema’s Sebastian Montoya, and his team-mates Paul Aron and Dino Beganovic, spent most of the afternoon session at the top of the times but the pace was over 22s slower than the morning.

A flurry of track activity when the track was drier shuffled the order entirely, with Monolite Racing’s Maceo Capietto going almost three seconds faster than Montoya to end the afternoon on top with a 2m18.553s lap.

He initially had a gap of almost two seconds to second place, but later on there was more activity in a dry window and Bortoleto became Capietto’s closest rival but was 0.477s slower.

Dufek and KIC Motorsport’s Santiago Ramos also got within a second of Capietto, with ART Grand Prix duo Laurens van Hoepen and Mari Boya in fifth and sixth place. The pair were back on track after suffering chassis damage at the exit of turn two on Tuesday. It was a repeat of issues that inflicted FREC at the circuit last year.

Keith Donegan, driving for the new Race Performance Management team, caused a late stoppage.

Test results

Pos Driver Team Time Gap
1 Gabriel Bortoleto R-ace GP 1m58.850s
2 Matias Zagazeta G4 Racing 1m59.228s +0.378s
3 Joshua Dufek Van Amersfoort Racing 1m59.385s +0.535s
4 Hadrien David R-ace GP 1m59.480s +0.630s
5 Kas Haverkort Van Amersfoort Racing 1m59.607s +0.757s
6 Owen Tangavelou G4 Racing 1m59.607s +0.757s
7 Lorenzo Fluxa R-ace GP 1m59.738s +0.888s
8 Leonardo Fornaroli Trident 1m59.789s +0.939s
9 Dino Beganovic Prema 1m59.959s +1.109s
10 Pietro Armanni Monolite Racing 1m59.969s +1.119s
11 Gabriele Mini ART Grand Prix 2m00.088s +1.238s
12 Roman Bilinski Trident 2m00.096s +1.246s
13 Axel Gnos G4 Racing 2m00.133s +1.283s
14 Esteban Masson FA Racing by MP 2m00.224s +1.374s
15 Paul Aron Prema 2m00.265s +1.415s
16 Sebastian Montoya Prema 2m00.336s +1.486s
17 Cenyu Han Monolite Racing 2m00.355s +1.505s
18 Tim Tramnitz Trident 2m00.492s +1.642s
19 Piotr Wisnicki KIC Motorsport 2m00.630s +1.780s
20 Pietro Delli Guanti R-P-M 2m00.708s +1.858s
21 Laurens van Hoepen ART Grand Prix 2m00.769s +1.919s
22 Nicolas Baptiste FA Racing by MP 2m00.825s +1.975s
23 Francesco Braschi KIC Motorsport 2m00.951s +2.101s
24 Maceo Capietto Monolite Racing 2m01.106s +2.256s
25 Keith Donegan R-P-M 2m01.180s +2.330s
26 Belen Garcia G4 Racing 2m01.202s +2.352s
27 Mari Boya ART Grand Prix 2m01.215s +2.365s
28 Abbi Pulling MP Motorsport 2m01.352s +2.502s
29 Eduardo Barrichello Arden 2m01.493s +2.643s
30 Noel Leon Arden 2m01.636s +2.786s
31 Victor Bernier FA Racing by MP 2m01.906s +3.056s
32 Levente Revesz Van Amersfoort Racing 2m02.579s +3.729s
33 Hamda Al Qubaisi Prema 2m02.820s +3.970s
34 Lena Buhler R-ace GP 2m03.400s +4.550s
35 Dilano van’t Hoff MP Motorsport 2m03.561s +4.711s
36 Santiago Ramos KIC Motorsport 2m07.839s +8.989s
37 Joshua Duerksen Arden 2m08.834s +9.984s
38 Sami Meguetounif MP Motorsport 2m10.248s +11.398s
39 Michael Belov MP Motorsport 2m12.403s +13.553s