Home Featured Bilinski takes FRegional Oceania title as Aron wins Highlands race two

Bilinski takes FRegional Oceania title as Aron wins Highlands race two

by Bethonie Waring

Photo: TGR NZ

Bryce Aron won the reversed-grid Formula Regional Oceania race at Highlands Motorsport Park, as Roman Bilinski claimed the title with a race to spare by finishing third.

Despite only needing to beat Liam Sceats to take the title, Bilinski spent the race battling with the top two and was briefly challenging for the victory before falling back to third.

Bilinski started fifth, two places ahead of Sceats after a difficult opening race of the weekend. He was one of the best off the line, jumping up to fourth behind Jacob Abel who was forced to defend hard in the opening laps but could not keep Bilinski at bay.

The champion-elect set the fastest lap of the race as he closed in on Patrick Woods-Toth in second. The majority of the race was spent trying to find a way past him. Bilinski attempted the same move a few times, only for Woods-Toth to hold on, allowing Aron to pull away up front.

Aron was roughly two seconds clear when Bilinski finally got into second place. It took little time for him to close onto the back of Aron, and the two were soon side-by-side. Despite a small mistake from Aron, he managed to hold on to the lead and Woods-Toth rejoined the battle. Once he did, he quickly found a way back through to second.

The battle behind Aron [pictured top] resumed and he again pulled away to finish 1.2s clear for his first win. Bilinski continued to attack Woods-Toth though to the final lap, but the latter held him at bay and took his best result of the season.

Abel finished fourth, ahead of Callum Hedge and Gerrard Xie. Sceats had a poor getaway, dropping down the order. He spent the race in a close battle with Michael Shin and Sebastian Manson for seventh, but finished ninth behind the duo.

Race results (18 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Bryce Aron M2 Competition 27m11.710s
2 Patrick Woods-Toth Kiwi Motorsport +1.241s
3 Roman Bilinski M2 Competition +2.072s
4 Jacob Abel MTEC Motorsport +5.652s
5 Callum Hedge MTEC Motorsport +6.875s
6 Gerrard Xie M2 Competition +9.088s
7 Michael Shin M2 Competition +10.802s
8 Sebastian Manson Giles Motorsport +11.356s
9 Liam Sceats M2 Competition +11.449s
10 Elliott Cleary MTEC Motorsport +11.996s
11 Jett Bowling Kiwi Motorsport +12.290s
12 Alex Crosbie Giles Motorsport +13.038s
13 Ryder Quinn M2 Competition +13.826s
14 Titus Sherlock Kiwi Motorsport +18.420s
15 Landan Matriano Lim Giles Motorsport +28.115s
16 Jake Bonilla Kiwi Motorsport +28.311s
17 Lucas Fecury MTEC Motorsport +32.562s
DNS Kaleb Ngatoa Giles Motorsport
Fastest lap: Bilinski, 1m29.455s

Championship standings
1 Bilinski 363   2 Sceats 307   3 Woods-Toth 239   4 Shin 218   5 Ngatoa 205   6 Xie 204   7 Crosbie 189   8 Tommy Smith 144   9 Christian Mansell 135   10 Nico Lacorte 130