Home Formula RegionalFRegional European Championship Bilinski fastest in FREC, Pradel tops F4 times in Red Bull Ring test

Bilinski fastest in FREC, Pradel tops F4 times in Red Bull Ring test

by Ida Wood

Photo: Niels Broekema / DPPA

Teams from FIA Formula 3, Formula Regional Europe, GB3 and Italian Formula 4 tested at the Red Bull Ring this week.

Since private testing of FIA F3 cars is not allowed, Campos Racing and Jenzer Motorsport ran old GP3 cars in the two-day test. Matias Zagazeta topped all but one of the eight sessions for Jenzer, and was the test’s fastest driver by 0.304 seconds.

Arden VRD was the only GB3 team present, and Noah Ping was fastest in each of Tuesday’s four sessions. His 1m27.227s benchmark was beaten by team-mate Nikita Johnson on Wednesday by 0.186s in the penultimate session. Johnson was fastest in the day’s first session by just 0.001s over Ping.

Trident’s Roman Bilinski and Race Performance Motorsport’s Noah Stromsted were the drivers to beat in the FREC classification.

Stromsted started the test on top with a 1m27.493s to lead Bilinski by 0.375s, then in session two Bilinski set a 1m26.861s to lead Van Amersfoort Racing’s Ivan Domingues and Pedro Clerot by 0.066s and 0.357s respectively.

In session three he improved to 1m26.640s, with Stromsted 0.403s behind in second place, and a 1m26.854s in session four put him on top by 0.167s over Stromsted. Monolite Racing’s Nikita Bedrin was third fastest in session three, and Domingues was third in session four. He and Clerot failed to improve on their personal bests from session two.

Wednesday started off significantly slower, with Stromsted topping session five with a 1m32.179s laptime. He led team-mate Edgar Pierre by 0.854s and Bilinski by 0.928s.

Bilinski returned to the top in session six, setting a 1m26.916s to outpace Stromsted by 0.242s. VAR’s Brando Badoer was 0.39s behind in third.

The majority of drivers set their fastest laps in session seven, and Bilinski led the way with a 1m26.440s. Stromsted was 0.29s behind and his team-mate Giovanni Maschio was 0.69s off the pace in third.

A 1m27.130s put Bilinski on top of the final session by 0.165s over Stromsted and Badoer. Domingues was 0.299s behind and Pierre improved to be 0.408s off the pace in fifth.

The F4 teams had their own sessions. US Racing’s Gianmarco Pradel topped six of them, with PHM Racing’s James Egozi and Jenzer’s Shimo Zhang fastest in the other two. Seven drivers set their best laps in the final session, where Pradel, Egozi and Zhang were covered by just 0.02s at the top. Less than a tenth of a second split the top two in three of the sessions.

Test results

Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Matias Zagazeta Jenzer Motorsport 1m21.439s 111
2 driver unknown Campos Racing 1m21.743s +0.304s 103
3 driver unknown Campos Racing 1m21.855s +0.416s 123
4 Max Esterson Jenzer Motorsport 1m22.030s +0.591s 99
1 Nikita Johnson Arden VRD 1m27.041s 135
2 Noah Ping Arden VRD 1m27.227s +0.186s 88
3 Shawn Rashid Arden VRD 1m28.033s +0.992s 114
4 Max Taylor Arden VRD 1m28.485s +1.444s 124
1 Roman Bilinski Trident 1m26.440s 141
2 Noah Stromsted R-P-M 1m26.730s +0.290s 129
3 Ivan Domingues Van Amersfoort Racing 1m26.927s +0.487s 139
4 Giovanni Maschio R-P-M 1m27.130s +0.690s 129
5 Niko Lacorte Trident 1m27.211s +0.771s 136
6 Pedro Clerot Van Amersfoort Racing 1m27.218s +0.778s 133
7 Brando Badoer Van Amersfoort Racing 1m27.295s +0.855s 112
8 Enzo Deligny R-ace GP 1m27.447s +1.007s 134
9 Nikita Bedrin Monolite Racing 1m27.451s +1.011s 108
10 Ruiqi Liu Trident 1m27.490s +1.050s 139
11 Edgar Pierre R-P-M 1m27.538s +1.098s 125
12 Evan Giltaire ART Grand Prix 1m27.572s +1.132s 139
13 Romain Andriolo ART Grand Prix 1m27.597s +1.157s 134
14 Jesse Carrasquedo G4 Racing 1m27.747s +1.307s 125
15 Tuukka Taponen R-ace GP 1m27.964s +1.524s 129
16 Kanato Le ART Grand Prix 1m28.008s +1.568s 132
17 Zachary David R-ace GP 1m28.066s +1.626s 131
18 Yaroslav Veselaho ART Grand Prix 1m28.531s +2.091s 123
19 Finley Green G4 Racing 1m28.553s +2.113s 132
20 Lucas Fecury G4 Racing 1m28.989s +2.549s 134
21 Zhongwei Wang Monolite Racing 1m30.053s +3.613s 82
1 Gianmarco Pradel US Racing 1m31.516s 134
2 James Egozi PHM Racing 1m31.534s +0.018s 137
3 Shimo Zhang Jen=zer Motorsport 1m31.536s +0.020s 135
4 Maxim Rehm US Racing 1m32.096s +0.580s 134
5 Kabir Anurag US Racing 1m32.213s +0.697s 135
6 Lucas Fluxa US Racing 1m32.457s +0.941s 140
8 Oscar Wurz Jenzer Motorsport 1m32.458s +0.942s 137
7 Kamal Mrad PHM Racing 1m32.780s +1.264s 150
9 Francisco Macedo Jenzer Motorsport 1m32.912s +1.396s 117
10 Luca Viisoreanu Real Racing Team 1m32.976s +1.460s 148
11 Maximilian Popov PHM Racing 1m33.021s +1.505s 156