Home Z - Archive seriesGerman F3 Bernstorff secures fourth win of the season at Lausitz

Bernstorff secures fourth win of the season at Lausitz

by Valentin Khorounzhiy

Photo: formel3.de

A bad start from poleman and series leader Marvin Kirchhofer put Emil Bernstorff in perfect position to take his fourth German F3 win of the season at Lausitzring.

Starting from the front row alongside his Lotus teammate, Bernstorff had no trouble getting off the line and was first into turn one, from which point on he found himself unchallenged for the win.

Kirchhofer’s bad start put him into fourth on lap one, but the German driver soon began mounting a recovery drive, passing Gustavo Menezes for third early on and then putting immense pressure on Artem Markelov. Finally, the Russian gave in, allowing Kirchhofer into second, and himself completing yet another Lotus 1-2-3.

Performance Racing’s Thomas Jager narrowly beat out Menezes in the closing stages of the race to take fourth. His teammate, Swede John Bryant-Meisner, was sixth, ahead of Nabil Jeffri.

Sebastian Balthasar took the Trophy class win in eighth, securing reverse-grid pole for race two.

Race results
Pos. Driver Cl. Team Time/Gap
1 Emil Bernstorff C Lotus 23 laps in 30:37.713
2 Marvin Kirchhofer C Lotus +5.163
3 Artem Markelov C Lotus +7.695
4 Thomas Jager C Performance Racing +15.081
5 Gustavo Menezes C Van Amersfoort +15.515
6 John Bryant-Meisner C Performance Racing +18.195
7 Nabil Jeffri C EuroInternational +35.803
8 Sebastian Balthasar T GU-Racing +36.212
9 Matteo Cairoli C ADM Motorsport +53.576
10 Hubertus-Carlos Vier T TTC Motorsport +58.892
11 Freddy Killensberger T GU-Racing +1:00.736
12 Sheban Siddiqi C Lotus +1 lap
13 Jordi Weckx C Van Amersfoort +1 lap
14 Christian Zeller T CR Racing Team +1 lap
15 Thomas Warken T CR Racing Team +1 lap
16 Luca Iannaccone T Aberer Motorsport +2 laps
17 Andreas Germann T CR Racing Team +2 laps
Not classified
Maximilian Hackl T Frank Woss Racing +20 laps
DNS Michael Aberer T Aberer Motorsport