Home Formula RegionalFRegional European Championship Belov brings MP to the top in FREC FP2 at Monza

Belov brings MP to the top in FREC FP2 at Monza

by Ida Wood

Photo: FRECA

MP Motorsport’s Michael Belov set the pace in the second Formula Regional European Championship free practice session at Monza.

On a drier track than in the morning, drivers got ready for Saturday’s qualifying which will follow a new format.

Due to the grid expanding to 35 full-time entries, qualifying will now be split into two segments featuring half of the grid each. The group that runs first in Q1 will then run after the other group when it comes to Q2, which takes place on Sunday this weekend. It’s a format that was used by the Formula Renault Eurocup, which had a semi-merger with FREC last year.

There were 37 cars on track at Monza, as Prema’s fourth driver Hamda Al Qubaisi was present after missing FP1. She ended up going 19th fastest, 1.172 seconds off the pace, and the top 13 ahead of her were covered by a second on the timesheet.

Belov had a comfortable 0.265s margin at the top, but just 0.031s then spread Mari Boya, Paul Aron and Gabriele Mini in second, third and fourth.

Hadrien David showed improved form compared to testing by going fifth fastest for R-ace GP, the 2021 title runner-up 0.525s slower than Belov.

Free practice results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Michael Belov MP Motorsport 1m46.509s 21
2 Mari Boya ART Grand Prix 1m46.774s +0.265s 18
3 Paul Aron Prema 1m46.787s +0.278s 20
4 Gabriele Mini ART Grand Prix 1m46.805s +0.296s 10
5 Hadrien David R-ace GP 1m47.034s +0.525s 20
6 Kas Haverkort Van Amersfoort Racing 1m47.092s +0.583s 21
7 Joshua Duerksen Arden 1m47.124s +0.615s 19
8 Sami Meguetounif MP Motorsport 1m47.167s +0.658s 21
9 Dino Beganovic Prema 1m47.259s +0.750s 20
10 Dilano van’t Hoff MP Motorsport 1m47.330s +0.821s 21
11 Eduardo Barrichello Arden 1m47.415s +0.906s 17
12 Joshua Dufek Van Amersfoort Racing 1m47.459s +0.950s 21
13 Noel Leon Arden 1m47.496s +0.987s 19
14 Laurens van Hoepen ART Grand Prix 1m47.539s +1.030s 19
15 Gabriel Bortoleto R-ace GP 1m47.555s +1.046s 20
16 Matias Zagazeta G4 Racing 1m47.584s +1.075s 21
17 Leonardo Fornaroli Trident 1m47.649s +1.140s 18
18 Tim Tramnitz Trident 1m47.660s +1.151s 19
19 Hamda Al Qubaisi Prema 1m47.681s +1.172s 21
20 Lorenzo Fluxa R-ace GP 1m47.682s +1.173s 20
21 Esteban Masson FA Racing by MP 1m47.693s +1.184s 19
22 Keith Donegan R-P-M 1m47.747s +1.238s 21
23 Roman Bilinski Trident 1m47.780s +1.271s 18
24 Maceo Capietto Monolite Racing 1m47.781s +1.272s 19
25 Sebastian Montoya Prema 1m47.801s +1.292s 19
26 Victor Bernier FA Racing by MP 1m47.832s +1.323s 21
27 Pietro Delli Guanti R-P-M 1m47.901s +1.392s 16
28 Pietro Armanni Monolite Racing 1m48.252s +1.743s 20
29 Owen Tangavelou G4 Racing 1m48.265s +1.756s 18
30 Cenyu Han Monolite Racing 1m48.284s +1.775s 20
31 Piotr Wisnicki KIC Motorsport 1m48.338s +1.829s 20
32 Nicolas Baptiste FA Racing by MP 1m48.537s +2.028s 19
33 Lena Buhler R-ace GP 1m48.781s +2.272s 20
34 Santiago Ramos KIC Motorsport 1m48.788s +2.279s 18
35 Francesco Braschi KIC Motorsport 1m49.016s +2.507s 21
36 Axel Gnos G4 Racing 1m49.125s +2.616s 20
37 Levente Revesz Van Amersfoort Racing 1m49.370s +2.861s 15