Home News Bedrin wins reversed grid F4 UAE race as Prema drivers fight

Bedrin wins reversed grid F4 UAE race as Prema drivers fight

by Ida Wood

Photo: F4 UAE

Nikita Bedrin gave PHM Racing its second Formula 4 United Arab Emirates win in the reversed grid race at Dubai Autodrome in a podium filled by first-time visitors.

3Y Technology by R-ace GP’s Martinius Stenshorne and MP Motorsport’s Suleiman Zanfari shared the front row of the grid, ahead of Rik Koen (MP), Rafael Camara (Prema), Miron Pingasov (MP) and Bedrin.

Camara started fastest, challenging Stenshorne for the lead into the opening corner. Picking the outside line didn’t work for Camara though and he fell back behind Zanfari to third.

At the end of the back straight Zanfari braked very late to pass Stenshorne, but instead ran both of them wide and a four-car battle for the lead turned into a distant battle for second as Bedrin snuck past and pulled away.

Prema’s Camara and Charlie Wurz passed Zanfari before the end of lap one, with PHM’s Taylor Barnard also then getting through and charging into battle with those ahead. He made it into third, while Wurz was shuffled down to eighth before the safety car came out at the end of lap three due to incidents at the back of the field. In amongst the drama, MP’s title contender Tasanapol Inthraphuvasak had fallen to 25th place.

At the restart Barnard went straight by Stenshorne for second, but by the end of the lap he was back behind him and Camara, and on the lap after he retired in the pits.

Camara tried passing Stenshorne at turn one on this lap, then again by using the run-off down the back straight, but couldn’t get past and soon had Zanfari poking his nose in.

This allowed Bedrin to cruise away to win, while further back Wurz had dropped places again and Abu Dhabi Racing by Prema pair Aiden Neate and James Wharton were locked in battle.

After banging wheels several times the fight ate into Neate’s tyres and he dropped behind the recovering Wurz, while Wharton broke away but only after being passed for fifth by AKM Motorsport’s sportscar racer Loris Spinelli.

Race results (15 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Nikita Bedrin PHM Racing 26m29.053s
2 Martinius Stenshorne 3Y by R-ace GP +3.211s
3 Rafael Camara Prema +4.298s
4 Suleiman Zanfari MP Motorsport +7.990s
5 Loris Spinelli AKM Motorsport +8.444s
6 James Wharton Abu Dhabi Racing by Prema +9.284s
7 Charlie Wurz Prema +13.814s
8 Aiden Neate Abu Dhabi Racing by Prema +14.395s
9 Ollie Gray Hitech GP +17.982s
10 Rik Koen MP Motorsport +18.332s
11 Miron Pingasov MP Motorsport +19.432s
12 Jonas Ried PHM Racing +20.002s
13 Brando Badoer AKM Motorsport +20.432s
14 Michael Shin JHR Developments +21.432s
15 Jamie Day Xcel Motorsport +21.518s
16 Sohil Shah PHM Racing +21.910s
17 Tasanapol Inthraphuvasak MP Motorsport +21.923s
18 Ricardo Escotto Cram-Hitech GP +23.938s
19 Anshul Gandhi Cram-Hitech GP +25.233s
20 Ivan Domingues Xcel Motorsport +26.426s
21 Alex Dunne Hitech GP +27.328s
22 Vladislav Ryabov GRS +31.574s
23 Victoria Blokhina 3Y by R-ace GP +34.013s
24 Joseph Loake JHR Developments +39.547s
25 Nikhil Bohra 3Y by R-ace GP +40.576s
26 Nandhavud Bhirombhakdi PHM Racing +43.558s
Ret Jules Castro Pinnacle Motorsport
Ret Taylor Barnard PHM Racing
Ret Ismail Akhmedkhodjaev 3Y by R-ace GP
Fastest lap: Wharton, 1m39.898s

Championship standings
1 Wharton 110   2 Neate 97   3 Inthraphuvasak 94   4 Wurz 87   5 Andrea Kimi Antonelli 83   6 Bedrin 59   7 Barnard 45   8 Gray 41   9 Dunne 32   10 Stenshorne 32