Home Formula 4Italian F4 Bearman fastest in both Italian F4 practices at Vallelunga

Bearman fastest in both Italian F4 practices at Vallelunga

by Ida Wood

Photo: ACI Sport

Italian Formula 4 points leader Ollie Bearman got the third round of the season off to a good start by topping both free practice sessions.

Temperatures had dropped significantly since Friday’s hot pre-event test, which aided performance around the Vallelunga circuit.

Bearman was at the top of the timesheet for much of FP1, with US Racing’s returning Tim Tramnitz and his own Van Amersfoort Racing team-mate Joshua Dufek trading second place.

It was Tramnitz who prevailed, with a lap two tenths slower than Bearman’s benchmark, and there were seven cars that lapped sub-1m34s.

That number increased in FP2, as Tramnitz and Bearman disputed top spot until the latter put in successive fastest laps to establish himself in first place.

He ended the morning with a 1m33.355s, and Tramnitz’s final effort was a 1m33.546s that put him second.

In third was Prema’s Kirill Smal, who was 10th in FP1, while Dufek didn’t actually better his session one pace but still ended up fourth overall.

Charlie Wurz, son of former Formula 1 racer Alex and making his single-seater debut with Prema, rouded out the top five and was four tenths off the pace. He topped the in-season test at the circuit earlier this month.

His team-mate Sebastian Montoya was sixth, despite going faster in FP1 than FP2, and Mucke Motorsport’s Joshua Duerksen was seventh. Duerksen’s team-mate Jonas Ried topped the pre-event test but he was only 18th fastest in practice, although the top 21 drivers were covered by less than a second on pace. The third Mucke car of Erick Zuniga caused a red flag stoppage in FP2.

VAR duo Bence Valint and Cenyu Han were eighth and ninth overall, with Han off the pace in FP2, and Bearman’s title rival Leonardo Fornaroli (Iron Lynx) was 10th. After going 17th fastest in FP1, Prema’s Conrad Laursen rose to 11th in FP2.

Free practice results

Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Ollie Bearman Van Amersfoort Racing 1m33.355s 36
2 Tim Tramnitz US Racing 1m33.546s +0.191s 38
3 Kirill Smal Prema 1m33.631s +0.276s 33
4 Joshua Dufek Van Amersfoort Racing 1m33.691s +0.336s 33
5 Charlie Wurz Prema 1m33.756s +0.401s 33
6 Sebastian Montoya Prema 1m33.764s +0.409s 31
7 Joshua Duerksen Mucke Motorsport 1m33.799s +0.444s 27
8 Bence Valint Van Amersfoort Racing 1m33.873s +0.518s 37
9 Cenyu Han Van Amersfoort Racing 1m33.879s +0.524s 35
10 Leonardo Fornaroli Iron Lynx 1m33.957s +0.602s 39
11 Conrad Laursen Prema 1m33.971s +0.616s 33
12 Vlad Lomko US Racing 1m34.008s +0.653s 36
13 Francesco Braschi Jenzer Motorsport 1m34.155s +0.800s 33
14 Hamda Al Qubaisi Prema 1m34.169s +0.814s 32
15 Lorenzo Patrese AKM Motorsport 1m34.195s +0.840s 35
16 Nikita Bedrin Van Amersfoort Racing 1m34.230s +0.875s 34
17 Erick Zuniga Mucke Motorsport 1m34.248s +0.893s 12
18 Jonas Ried Mucke Motorsport 1m34.250s +0.895s 39
19 Piotr Wisnicki Jenzer Motorsport 1m34.265s +0.910s 32
20 Maya Weug Iron Lynx 1m34.272s +0.917s 35
21 Samir Ben Jenzer Motorsport 1m34.342s +0.987s 32
22 Eron Rexhepi BVM Racing 1m34.358s +1.003s 34
23 Leonardo Bizzotto BVM Racing 1m34.387s +1.032s 31
24 Jorge Garciarce Jenzer Motorsport 1m34.512s +1.157s 29
25 Kacper Sztuka AS Motorsport 1m34.542s +1.187s 35
26 Nicolas Baptiste Cram Motorsport 1m34.543s +1.188s 34
27 Pietro Armanni Iron Lynx 1m34.585s +1.230s 38
28 Levente Revesz AKM Motorsport 1m34.606s +1.251s 36
29 Georgios Markogiannis Cram Motorsport 1m34.616s +1.261s 37
30 Pedro Perino DR Formula 1m34.699s +1.344s 33
31 Vittori Catino Cram Motorsport 1m35.362s +2.007s 40