Home Formula 4ADAC F4 Bearman fastest in both ADAC F4 practice sessions at Zandvoort

Bearman fastest in both ADAC F4 practice sessions at Zandvoort

by Alejandro Alonso Lopez

Photo: ADAC

Van Amersfoort Racing’s Ollie Bearman was fastest in both free practice sessions at Zandvoort for the second round of the ADAC Formula 4 season.

The British driver ended the morning session 0.575 seconds ahead of US Racing’s Tim Tramnitz. Gaps were much smaller among the rest of the top 10, with second to 10th place covered by just half a second.

Most drivers set their fastest times towards the end of the session thanks to the improvement of track conditions.

Only frontrunners Sebastian Montoya, Victor Bernier and Kirill Smal were unable to lower their mid-session laptimes, which left them fourth, seventh and eighth respectively.

Third place went to VAR’s Joshua Dufek, who was just 0.048s slower than Tramnitz.

Luke Browning ended the opening practice in sixth, 0.879s off first place, and just behind his US Racing team-mate Vladislav Lomko.

Bearman again was faster than everyone in the afternoon, in a session which was interrupted twice. However, his competitors were much closer to him this time.

Drivers quickly lowered their morning benchmarks, and Bearman bettered his FP1 benchmark by 0.655s beofre a red flag.

When the session restarted, Bearman lowered his laptime further by over three tenths to stay on top.

The rest of the top 10 positions kept changing as drivers continued to improve. Prema’s Montoya and Smal were able to set laps which were good enough for second and third place.

Another red flag with three minutes to go meant the session was called off earlier than scheduled, preventing drivers from attempting a last push lap.

The only driver two drivers to be faster in FP1 were BWR Motorsports’ Taylor Barnard and Iron Lynx’s Leonardo Fornaroli, as neither set a flying lap in the second session.

Free practice results

Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Ollie Bearman Van Amersfoort Racing 1m35.181s   23
2 Sebastian Montoya Prema 1m35.366s +0.185s 16
3 Kirill Smal Prema 1m35.469s +0.288s 17
4 Bence Valint Van Amersfoort Racing 1m35.515s +0.334s 25
5 Victor Bernier R-ace GP 1m35.535s +0.354s 16
6 Luke Browning US Racing 1m35.632s +0.451s 26
7 Joshua Dufek Van Amersfoort Racing 1m35.798s +0.617s 23
8 Sami Meguetounif R-ace GP 1m35.945s +0.764s 22
9 Francesco Braschi Jenzer Motorsport 1m36.002s +0.821s 24
10 Vlad Lomko US Racing 1m36.092s +0.911s 22
11 Conrad Laursen Prema 1m36.096s +9.915s 22
12 Tim Tramnitz US Racing 1m36.311s +1.130s 20
13 Hamda Al Qubaisi Prema 1m36.507s +1.326s 22
14 Marcus Amand R-ace GP 1m36.789s +1.608s 19
15 Valentino Catalano BWR Motorsports 1m36.993s +1.812s 24
16 Nikita Bedrin Van Amersfoort Racing 1m37.069s +1.888s 13
17 Michael Sauter Sauter Engineering+Design 1m37.177s +1.996s 24
18 Leonardo Fornaroli Iron Lynx 1m37.204s +2.023s 10
19 Taylor Barnard BWR Motorsports 1m37.362s +2.181s 11
20 Cenyu Han Van Amersfoort Racing 1m37.474s +2.293s 19
21 Maya Weug Iron Lynx 1m37.523s +2.342s 26
22 Jorge Garciarce Jenzer Motorsport 1m37.725s +2.544s 24
23 Levente Revesz R-ace GP 1m38.487s +3.306s 19