Home Featured Bearman completes brilliant Baku double with F2 feature race triumph

Bearman completes brilliant Baku double with F2 feature race triumph

by Steve Whitfield

Photo: Prema

Prema’s Ollie Bearman controlled the Formula 2 feature race from pole to take his second win of the weekend on the streets of Baku.

Bearman led home Rodin Carlin’s Enzo Fittipaldi in a relatively tame contest, with ART Grand Prix’s Theo Pourchaire completing the podium.

Fittipaldi slotted into second at the start behind Bearman, with Pourchaire maintaining third, while ART GP’s Victor Martins made up three places to fifth behind Frederik Vesti.

Pourchaire challenged Fittipaldi at the start of lap two, using his DRS to complete the move into turn three. The Sauber junior then got a great run to snatch the lead into turn one, but Bearman responded to reclaim the advantage next time by.

Bearman was then able to break DRS by pulling out a lead of 1.1 seconds over Pourchaire before the pair made their mandatory pitstops at the end of lap eight – timing it as a virtual safety car period began – to switch from supersoft to medium compound tyres, with Bearman extending his advantage by a further second.

Pourchaire closed the deficit after that by setting the fastest lap, but Bearman responded to edge away once more despite a light brush with the wall.

Fittipaldi caught and passed Pourchaire with six laps to go, moving to the outside at turn three before sealing the overtake into the following corner.

Starting on the medium compound, Isack Hadjar and Ayuma Iwasa ran first and second until making their pitstops in the closing stages, with Bearman taking back the lead with four laps to go and with a four-second advantage over Fittipaldi.

Fittipaldi reduced the gap and came home 2.315s behind Bearman, who completed a rare double victory after also winning the sprint race, while Pourchaire moved into the points lead by finishing third. Martins was a further second adrift in fourth.

Vesti lost ground during the early pitstop phase but recovered to fifth, edging Campos Racing’s Kush Maini who climbed up from 14th on the grid.

Dennis Hauger was seventh ahead of Hadjar and Richard Verschoor, with Jak Crawford the final points scorer in 10th.

MP’s Jehan Daruvala was in contention for a top-10 finish after passing Crawford, but a mistake at turn one cost him a couple of positions and was then further hampered by 10s time penalty for an unsafe return to track.

Pre-race points leader Iwasa trailed home 13th, and failed to score a point across the weekend.

PHM Racing by Charouz’s Brad Benavides was the only retiree after sliding down an escape road and then striking a barrier.

Feature race results (29 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Ollie Bearman Prema 57m23.163s
2 Emmo Fittipaldi Carlin +2.315s
3 Theo Pourchaire ART Grand Prix +2.607s
4 Victor Martins ART Grand Prix +3.811s
5 Frederik Vesti Prema +15.223s
6 Kush Maini Campos Racing +15.792s
7 Dennis Hauger MP Motorsport +17.301s
8 Isack Hadjar Hitech GP +19.576s
9 Richard Verschoor Van Amersfoort Racing +26.869s
10 Jak Crawford Hitech GP +27.541s
11 Arthur Leclerc DAMS +29.695s
12 Zane Maloney Carlin +30.390s
13 Ayumu Iwasa DAMS +32.806s
14 Juan Manuel Correa Van Amersfoort Racing +39.092s
15 Jehan Daruvala MP Motorsport +39.243s
16 Jack Doohan Virtuosi Racing +40.007s
17 Clement Novalak Trident +40.017s
18 Roman Stanek Trident +42.023s
19 Roy Nissany PHM by Charouz +53.202s
20 Amaury Cordeel Virtuosi Racing +57.858s
21 Ralph Boschung Campos Racing +1m01.267s
Ret Brad Benavides PHM by Charouz
Fastest lap: Hadjar, 1m53.478s

Championship standings
Pourchaire 65   2 Vesti 60   3 Iwasa 58   4 Bearman 41   5 Maini 39   6 Hauger 36   7 Boschung 33   8 Leclerc 33   9 Daruvala 32   10 Fittipaldi 31