Home Featured Bearman and Prema bounce back with F2 pole in Jeddah

Bearman and Prema bounce back with F2 pole in Jeddah

by Peter Allen

Photo: Formula Motorsport Limited

Ollie Bearman rebounded from his tough start to the Formula 2 season by taking pole position in Jeddah.

The Prema driver, who failed to score in round one in Bahrain, went fastest on his first run at the start of qualifying with Invicta Racing’s Kush Maini the only driver to get within half a second of his time.

After a cool-down lap, the supersoft tyres proved durable enough for a second flying lap, which Dennis Hauger used to go fastest by 0.06 seconds over Paul Aron.

On the second set of tyres however it would again be a private battle for pole between Bearman and Maini. They ran slightly later on track on than most of their rivals, Bearman setting a 1m42.217s to go four tenths clear of Aron’s latest lap, with Maini then clocking a time 0.025s shy of that benchmark.

With an instance of impeding involving Bearman and Ritomo Miyata noted by race control, the former aborted his final flying lap.

Maini on the other hand looked like he might have the pace to improve, but just came up short of doing so and had to make do with second place.

Jak Crawford improved on his final attempt to take third for DAMS, while Victor Martins claimed fourth ahead of Enzo Fittipaldi, who could face investigation for crossing the pit entry line earlier in the session.

Bearman’s team-mate Andrea Kimi Antonelli was sixth in front of Hauger, Isack Hadjar and Richard Verschoor, while Aron ended up 10th after failing to improve on his last effort – but that does provisionally put him on reversed-grid pole for the sprint race.

After taking two podiums from 11th on the grid in Bahrain, Pepe Marti finished in the same position once again.

It was worse for double Bahrain winner Zane Maloney, whose Rodin team were working at the rear of the car early in the session, and he stopped out on track at the very end having improved to go 16th on his last completed lap.

Rafael Villagomez did not take part in qualifying after his crash in free practice.

Qualifying results
Pos Driver Team Time Gaps Laps
1 Ollie Bearman Prema 1m42.217s 12
2 Kush Maini Virtuosi Racing 1m42.242s +0.025s 11
3 Jak Crawford DAMS 1m42.376s +0.159s 12
4 Victor Martins ART Grand Prix 1m42.397s +0.180s 13
5 Enzo Fittipaldi Van Amersfoort Racing 1m42.420s +0.203s 13
6 Andrea Kimi Antonelli Prema 1m42.445s +0.228s 13
7 Dennis Hauger MP Motorsport 1m42.455s +0.238s 12
8 Isack Hadjar Campos Racing 1m42.513s +0.296s 12
9 Richard Verschoor Trident 1m42.585s +0.368s 12
10 Paul Aron Hitech GP 1m42.638s +0.421s 13
11 Pepe Marti Campos Racing 1m42.668s +0.451s 12
12 Roman Stanek Trident 1m32.672s +0.455s 13
13 Franco Colapinto MP Motorsport 1m42.861s +0.644s 12
14 Zak O’Sullivan ART Grand Prix 1m42.886s +0.669s 13
15 Gabriel Bortoleto Virtuosi Racing 1m42.942s +0.725s 13
16 Zane Maloney Rodin Motorsport 1m43.040s +0.823s 11
17 Juan Manuel Correa DAMS 1m43.118s +0.901s 12
18 Taylor Barnard PHM Racing 1m43.145s +0.928s 11
19 Joshua Duerksen PHM Racing 1m43.544s +1.327s 12
20 Ritomo Miyata Rodin Motorsport 1m43.777s +1.560s 12
21 Amaury Cordeel Hitech GP 1m43.897s +1.680s 13
22 Rafael Villagomez Van Amersfoort Racing no time 0