Home News Barter makes it two wins in one weekend in Spanish F4’s Aragon finale

Barter makes it two wins in one weekend in Spanish F4’s Aragon finale

by Ida Wood

Photo: Spanish F4

Hugh Barter picked up his third Spanish Formula 4 win in the third Motorland Aragon race as championship dominator Nikola Tsolov had a rare messy race.

Barter beat Campos Racing team-mate Tsolov to pole but came under immediate attack and Tsolov was able to get his car down the inside of turn one.

However the tigher turn-in meant he was slower on exit and so Barter had the momentum to swing back into the lead as they reached the next direction change

Timoteusz Kucharczyk fended off his MP Motorsport team-mate Kirill Smal for third through the opening lap before the safety car was called out as Theophile Nael had a collision at the downhil chicane, Noah Lisle spun there and then Daniel Mavlyutov and Alvargo Garcia all went into retirement.

Nael managed to make it back to the pits, where Sebastian Gravlund went too to retire, and there was even more drama when racing resumed on lap five of 12 as the safety car left it late to enter the pits.

The confusion caused bunched the field up as they went down the pit straight, and Kucharczyk passed Tsolov for second into turn one. Tsolov lost out to Kirill Smal as well, then had some side-by-side action with him before running off track and dropping to sixth behind Valerio Rinicella and Suleiman Zanfari.

He regained one spot before the end of the lap, then set fastest lap next time by. However trying to reclaim fourth from Rinicella proved extra difficult, and as he looked for a way through the top three pulled away.

Barter built up a lead of 1.4s by the end of the race, with Kucharczyk’s focus late in the race having to switch to keeping Smal at bay to secure second place.

Tsolov’s pressuring of Rinicella was eventually rewarded on the last lap, as Rinciella defended turn one but then ran over the kerbs at turn two. It allowed Tsolov to get alongside, but only briefly, and it was later around the lap that he finally got a move done and made it stick. Both locked up entering the downhill chicane, but Tsolov stayed ahead to finish fourth.

Martinius Stenshorne passed Zanfari for sixth on the penultimate lap.

Race result
Pos Driver Team Gap
1 Hugh Barter Campos Racing 12 laps
2 Timoteusz Kucharzyck MP Motorsport +1.427s
3 Kirill Smal MP Motorsport +1.735s
4 Nikola Tsolov Campos Racing +3.497s
5 Valerio Rinicella MP Motorsport +4.576s
6 Martinius Stenshorne Monlau Motorsport +8.907s
7 Suleiman Zanfari MP Motorsport +10.195s
8 Robert de Haan Monlau Motorsport +10.484s
9 Ricardo Escotto Cram Motorsport +12.294s
10 Christian Ho MP Motorsport +17.739s
11 Daniel Nogales Drivex School +19.181s
12 Bruno del Pino Drivex School +19.390s
13 Vladislav Ryabov GRS +20.011s
14 Filip Jenic Campos Racing +21.470s
15 Miron Pingasov MP Motorsport +21.675s
16 Max Arkhangelskiy Drivex School +22.499s
17 Tasanapol Inthraphuvasak MP Motorsport +22.782s
18 Max Mayer Formula de Campeones +25.587s
19 Gael Julien Drivex School +26.284s
20 Theodor Jensen Sainteloc Racing +29.899s
Ret Theophile Nael Sainteloc Racing
Ret Manuel Espirito Santo Campos Racing
Ret Jef Machiels Monlau Motorsport
Ret Georg Kelstrip Campos Racing
Ret Sebastian Gravlund MP Motorsport
Ret Alvaro Garcia Formula de Campeones
Ret Daniel Mavlyutov GRS
Ret Noah Lisle JHR Developments
Fastest lap: Tsolov, 2m01.794s

Championship standings
1 Tsolov 286   2 Barter 180   3 Kucharczyk 156   4 Smal 101   5 Kelstrup 91   6 Zanfari 70   7 Rinicella 68   8 Jenic 64   9 Inthraphuvasak 56   10 de Haan 56