Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Renault 2.0FR2.0 NEC Barnicoat becomes sixth race winner of Formula Renault NEC season

Barnicoat becomes sixth race winner of Formula Renault NEC season

by Gruz David
Photo: Chris Schotanus / Essayprodukties.nl / FR 2.0 NEC

Photo: Chris Schotanus / Essayprodukties.nl / FR 2.0 NEC

Racing Steps Foundation-backed Ben Barnicoat took the win in the second Formula Renault NEC race at Hockenheim.

The karting graduate spent the whole race in first and finished with a decent gap of two seconds to his rivals.

While Steijn Schothorst was not slower than Barnicoat, he was kept busy, having to hold off a charging Levin Amweg. The duo eventually rounded out the podium.

South African driver Callan O’Keeffe finished fourth after overtaking Seb Morris, who settled for fifth with Louis Deletraz crossing the line a further second behind.

Austrian Stefan Riener secured seventh, as Jake Hughes, yesterday’s race winner Gustav Malja and Raoul Owens made up the rest of the top ten.

Race results
Pos. Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Ben Barnicoat Fortec Motorsports 15 laps in 25:02.722
2 Steijn Schothorst Manor MP Motorsport +2.045
3 Levin Amweg ART Junior Team +2.693
4 Callan O’Keeffe ART Junior Team +3.179
5 Seb Morris Fortec Motorsports +5.432
6 Louis Deletraz Josef Kaufmann Racing +6.739
7 Stefan Riener MGR Motorsport +11.174
8 Jake Hughes Mark Burdett Motorsport +16.681
9 Gustav Malja Josef Kaufmann Racing +17.413
10 Raoul Owens Mark Burdett Motorsport +18.458
11 Ryan Tveter Josef Kaufmann Racing +20.311
12 Martin Kodric Fortec Motorsports +25.856
13 Aurelien Panis ART Junior Team +29.490
14 Jorge Cevallos Fortec Motorsports +30.624
15 Robin Hansson Fragus BR Motorsport +32.187
16 Josef Zaruba AVF +33.237
17 Julio Moreno Manor MP Motorsport +33.602
18 Ukyo Sasahara Euronova +35.382
19 Leopold Ringbom PositiOne Motorsport +39.123
20 Harri Salminen PositiOne Motorsport +1:13.938
21 Robert Siska Inter Europol +1:23.601
22 Roy Geerts AVF +1:33.003
23 Matthew Graham AVF +1 lap
Not classified
Philippe Morin Manor MP Motorsport +5 laps
Salvatore Deplano Euronova +7 laps