Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Renault Eurocup Bailly returns to full-time single-seater racing with RC Formula

Bailly returns to full-time single-seater racing with RC Formula

by Valentin Khorounzhiy

Photo: Renault Sport/DPPI

Luxembourg-based team RC Formula has finalised its lineup for the 2013 running of Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0, with Belgian Benjamin Bailly joining the previously-announced Aurelien Panis and Roman Mavlanov.

Bailly, 22, made the switch to single-seaters in 2009, joining the Formul’Academy Euro Series (now known as French F4). He took six wins in his maiden season and won the series in a dominant fashion. 2010 saw him join the now-defunct Formula Two series, where he finished seventh with a win and two other podium finishes.

2011 saw Bailly switch to sportcars, as he spent the year in Radical European Masters, finishing 17th. He didn’t have a full-time seat in 2012, making appearances in both REM and FR2.0 Alps. He returned to single-seaters, testing with RC Formula at the recent pre-season test at Barcelona, and has now finalised the agreement.

RC Formula finished sixth in the teams’ standings of the 2012 Eurocup, running Norman Nato, Javier Tarancon, Edolo Ghirelli and Panis. Nato was the most successful in the individual standings, taking fourth overall and one win.