Home Formula 3FRegional European Championship Arthur Leclerc tops day two of FREC’s Mugello test

Arthur Leclerc tops day two of FREC’s Mugello test

by Ida Wood

Photo: Ferrari

Ferrari junior Arthur Leclerc set the pace on day two of the pre-season Formula Regional European Championship test at Mugello.

The Monegasque recorded 54 laps in the morning, and set his best lap midway through the session. It put him 0.286 seconds up on DR Formula’s Matteo Nannini, who will be racing in FIA Formula 3 Championship this year.

Leclerc was one of only three Prema cars running, with fellow Ferrari junior Gianluca Petecof sitting out the day after setting the pace on the first day of the test.

“It was the plan for us [to do only one day],” Petecof told Formula Scout. “I was happy just to be able to resume testing, still have a small eternity to wait until round one [so] we’ll crack on with some [test] laps until then.”

Oliver Rasmussen went third fastest for the team by topping the afternoon session, and W Series champion Jamie Chadwick substituted for the absent Roman Stanek again. She was 1.8s off the pace, behind DR Formula’s Italian Formula 4 graduate Emidio Pesce.

In the Italian F4 test running at the same time, Nicolas Todt protege Gabriele Mini once again set the pace for Prema.

He was 0.208s clear of his team-mate Dino Beganovic, another of Ferrari’s juniors, while DRZ Benelli’s Francesco Simonazzi overcame an exploding fire extinguisher in his car to go third fastest.

Cram Motorsport’s Andrea Rosso sank from third to seventh from day one to two, behind Sebastian Ogaard (Bhaitech), Gabriel Bortoleto (Prema) and Leonardo Fornaroli (Iron Lynx).


Test results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Arthur Leclerc Prema 1m42.406s F3R
2 Matteo Nannini DR Formula 1m42.692s +0.286s F3R
3 Oliver Rasmussen Prema 1m42.720s +0.314s F3R
4 Emidio Pesce DR Formula 1m43.128s +0.722s F3R
5 Jamie Chadwick Prema 1m44.206s +1.800s F3R
1 Gabriele Mini Prema 1m47.499s F4
2 Dino Beganovic Prema 1m47.707s +0.208s F4
3 Francesco Simonazzi DRZ Benelli 1m47.990s +0.491s F4
4 Sebastian Ogaard Bhaitech 1m48.296s +0.797s F4
5 Gabriel Bortoleto Prema 1m48.322s +0.823s F4
6 Leonardo Fornaroli Iron Lynx 1m48.383s +0.884s F4
7 Andrea Rosso Cram Motorsport 1m48.402s +0.903s F4
8 Filip Ugran Jenzer Motorsport 1m48.526s +1.027s F4
9 Francesco Braschi AS Motorsport 1m48.871s +1.372s F4
10 Nicola Marinangeli Bhaitech 1m49.000s +1.501s F4
11 Jasin Ferati Jenzer Motorsport 1m49.056s +1.557s F4
12 Lorenzo Patrese AKM Motorsport 1m49.406s +1.907s F4
13 Zdenek Chovanec Bhaitech 1m49.432s +1.933s F4
14 Dexter Patterson Bhaitech 1m49.629s +2.130s F4
15 Samir Ben Jenzer Motorsport 1m51.596s +4.097s F4