Home Featured Aron storms to maiden F3 victory at wet Red Bull Ring

Aron storms to maiden F3 victory at wet Red Bull Ring

by Bethonie Waring

Photo: Prema

Paul Aron took his maiden FIA Formula 3 victory in a wet sprint race at the Red Bull Ring. 

The Prema driver climbed up from eighth on the grid to lead Gabriele Mini to the chequered flag, while Caio Collet held onto third from Zak O’Sullivan. 

It was a race of two halves. In the first, reversed-grid pole-sitter Pepi Marti stormed away at the front while Kaylen Frederick tried to hold onto second place. The strong defence of the ART Grand Prix driver allowed Marti to extend a gap of more than 3.6 seconds by the time Aron managed to find a way through. 

Aron immedietly set about closing the gap and had already cut more than a second by the time Mini followed him past Frederick. 

Aron continued to close Marti’s gap, and was helped by a safety car period caused by Ollie Gray and Rafael Villagomez. They had been battling in the midfield when Gray made slight contact with the rear of Villagomez’s car. Villagomez was sent into a spin, which Gray was unable to avoid and both cars could not make it back to the pits. 

On the restart, it looked like a repeat of the initial start with Aron and Mini battling for position and allowing Marti to escape. That didn’t last long, however, and Aron soon closed back in on Marti. 

Marti’s defences turned it a four-car lead battle, with Aron, Mini and Collet all close behind. In the space of a lap, Aron was able to get past Marti, with Mini doing the same a few corners later. Collet tried to get alongside Marti, but had to wait a few laps before pulling off a move. 

Aron and Mini broke away as Marti and Collet battled. Aron was 1.469s clear of Mini at the finish, with third a further 3.509s back. 

Collet managed to take third from Marti, but then came under attack from Zak O’Sullivan and Jonny Edgar. The duo couldn’t find a way past Collet, who secured his second podium of 2023. O’Sullivan finished fourth ahead of Edgar, Marti and Frederick. 

It was a race to forget for Oliver Goethe, who started from row two but stalled. Despite the wet conditions, the field managed to avoid his stationary car, and Goethe got going again at the back. He was making good progress and into the top half of the order when he made contact with Nikita Bedrin and suffered a puncture. He eventually finished 26th. 

Championship leader Gabriel Bortoleto also had problems early on. He was trying to move forward from ninth on the grid when he hit the pit limiter and slowed. That dropped him down the order and he began his recovery again. He became stuck behind Luke Browning for several laps but eventually managed to pass him for 10th. 

Dino Beganovic, who is third in the standings, finished eighth ahead of Sebastian Montoya. 

Race result (20 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Paul Aron Prema 33m18.970s
2 Gabriele Mini Hitech GP +1.469s
3 Caio Collet Van Amersfoort Racing +4.978s
4 Zak O’Sullivan Prema +5.486s
5 Jonny Edgar MP Motorsport +6.372s
6 Pepe Marti Campos Racing +7.651s
7 Kaylen Frederick ART Grand Prix +8.332s
8 Dino Beganovic Prema +8.490s
9 Sebastian Montoya Hitech GP +9.679s
10 Gabriel Bortoleto Trident +10.157s
11 Luke Browning Hitech GP +10.985s
12 Mari Boya MP Motorsport +11.343s
13 Franco Colapinto MP Motorsport +12.311s
14 Christian Mansell Campos Racing +14.374s
15 Leonardo Fornaroli Trident +15.175s
16 Nikola Tsolov ART Grand Prix +16.057s
17 Nikita Bedrin Jenzer Motorsport +16.873s
18 Ido Cohen Carlin +17.260s
19 Sophia Floersch PHM by Charouz +18.265s
20 Hunter Yeany Carlin +18.507s
21 Gregoire Saucy ART Grand Prix +19.415s
22 Tommy Smith Van Amersfoort Racing +20.160s
23 Hugh Barter Campos Racing +21.705s
24 McKenzy Cresswell PHM by Charouz +22.749s
25 Roberto Faria PHM by Charouz +25.292s
26 Oliver Goethe Trident +1m28.610s
27 Taylor Barnard Jenzer Motorsport +2 laps
Ret Ollie Gray Carlin
Ret Rafael Villagomez Van Amersfoort Racing
Ret Alex Garcia Jenzer Motorsport
Fastest lap: Aron, 1m33.061s

Championship standings
Bortoleto 93   2 Marti 73   3 Mini 65   4 Aron 65   5 Beganovic 64   6 Saucy 49   7 Colapinto 48   8 O’Sullivan 48   9 Browning 38   10 Fornaroli 36