Home Formula 4Argentinian F4 Argentinian F4 championship to be launched this year

Argentinian F4 championship to be launched this year

by Ida Wood

Argentina will bring the list of FIA Formula 4 championships to 15 later this year with the announcement that it will start its own series in July.

Plans to bring the FIA F4 concept to Argentina, which already has a long-lived and popular Formula Renault series, started to come to fruition last year with homologation tests of the Mygale chassis used in Asia, Europe and Mexico taking place with the Argentinian motorsport authorities.

It was formally announced in December, and will use the same Geely engine utilised in the Chinese F4 championship. Having satisfied criteria set by both Argentinian authorities and the FIA, it will award 12 FIA Super Licence points as per the other F4 championships.

Tito Perez, the brains behind the series, has said it will be?”the most economical F4 championship in the world”, and it is believed his product comes after several unsuccessful attempts to create a championship in the country.

The seven-round season will be the first time there’s ever been a full FIA championship in Argentina, and will hold five of its rounds at the Buenos Aires circuit that previously hosted Formula 1’s Argentinian Grand Prix.

It will also visit MotoGP venue Termas de Rio Hondo, and new circuit El Villicum which opened last year and has already held the World Superbike Championship.

2019 calendar

July 13/14: Buenos Aires
August 3/4: Buenos Aires
August 31/September 1: El Villicum
September 21/22: Buenos Aires
October 5/6: Termas de Rio Hondo
November 2/3: Buenos Aires
November 30/December 1: Buenos Aires