Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Renault Eurocup Arden’s Alex Quinn claims pole for first Eurocup race of 2020

Arden’s Alex Quinn claims pole for first Eurocup race of 2020

by Craig Woollard

Photo: Gregory Lenormand / DPPI

Arden’s Alex Quinn will start the first Formula Renault Eurocup race of 2020 at Monza from pole, following a last-gasp run to secure top spot in qualifying two.

The results from Q2 set the grid for race one, and Monza was not at its grippiest at the start of the Friday morning session.

Drivers including MP Motorsport’s Franco Colapinto deliberately slowed to get a slipstream from a team-mate, and he was among the quickest prior to a red flag.

That came out as a result of Arden’s Ugo de Wilde – who came to a halt at the first chicane. As a result, he lost his best lap and will start from last.

With six minutes remaining, the session got underway again. ART Grand Prix’s Victor Martins, who did not set a representative time before the pause, set an impressive lap straight away to vault to the top.

That was before he was pipped by Quinn by a tenth, with FA Racing by Manor’s Tijmen van der Helm splitting the pair.

Martins didn’t improve on his final lap and will start third, ahead of Colapinto. JD Motorsport’s William Alatalo lines up fifth, with R-ace GP’s Caio Collet three tenths back in sixth.


Qualifying results
Pos Name Team Time
1 Alex Quinn Arden 1m47.112s
2 Tijmen van der Helm FA Racing by Manor +0.127s
3 Victor Martins ART Grand Prix +0.136s
4 Franco Colapinto MP Motorsport +0.175s
5 William Alatalo JD Motorsport +0.180s
6 Caio Collet R-ace GP +0.300s
7 Mikhael Belov M2 Competition +0.523s
8 Lorenzo Colombo Bhaitech +0.549s
9 Amaury Cordeel FA Racing by Manor +0.578s
10 Hadrien David MP Motorsport +0.587s
11 Joey Alders MP Motorsport +0.593s
12 Gregoire Saucy ART Grand Prix +0.640s
13 Paul Aron ART Grand Prix +0.842s
14 Nicola Marinangeli Bhaitech +0.862s
15 Petr Ptacek R-ace GP +0.871s
16 Laszlo Toth Bhaitech +1.244s
17 Reshad de Gerus Arden +2.220s
18 Ugo de Wilde Arden +13.378s