Home Formula 4Italian F4 Antonelli tops testing at Misano for Italian F4 teams

Antonelli tops testing at Misano for Italian F4 teams

by Ida Wood

Photo: ACI Sport

Mercedes-AMG Formula 1 junior Andrea Kimi Antonelli set the fastest lap in Italian Formula 4 testing at Misano this week.

The two-day test consisted of four lengthy sessions, three of which were headed by Kacper Sztuka. The Pole, driving for US Racing, set a 1m34.819s on Wednesday morning, improved to a 1m34.583s that afternoon, then went slower on Thursday morning but still set the pace with a 1m34.965s lap.

The final session of the test was the fastest for most drivers but not for Antonelli,and Sztuka brought his pace down to 1m34.403s. That was just 0.031 seconds slower than Antonelli’s Wednesday afternoon benchmark.

Antonelli was second fastest in each morning session and third on Thursday afternoon, with Ferrari junior Rafael Camara bettering him in addition to Sztuka.

Fourth fastest overall was US Racing’s Alex Dunne, who like Antonelli didn’t improve from his day one pace.

There were 26 cars in action, with Alexander Geirer (Jenzer Motorsport) and Andrea Frassineti skipping the first day of running.

New names to F4 included Nicolas Todt protege Martinius Stenshorne (Van Amersfoort Racing), Portuguese karter Ivan Domingues (Iron Lynx), Swiss karter Ethan Ischer, British karter Oliver Stewart and Frassineti, who has tested privately before.

Test results

Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Andrea Kimi Antonelli Prema 1m34.372s 181
2 Kacper Sztuka US Racing 1m34.403s +0.031s 219
3 Rafael Camara Prema 1m34.483s +0.111s 177
4 Alex Dunne US Racing 1m34.520s +0.148s 203
5 Marcus Amand US Racing 1m34.675s +0.303s 206
6 Martinius Stenshorne Van Amersfoort Racing 1m34.746s +0.374s 169
7 Marcos Flack Van Amersfoort Racing 1m34.781s +0.409s 164
8 Emmo Fittipaldi Van Amersfoort Racing 1m34.832s +0.460s 169
9 Arias Deukmedjian Van Amersfoort Racing 1m34.842s +0.470s 143
10 Harrison Scott R-ace GP 1m34.950s +0.578s 192
11 Ugo Ugochukwu R-ace GP 1m34.958s +0.586s 182
12 Brando Badoer AKM Motorsport 1m35.004s +0.632s 162
13 Maya Weug Iron Lynx 1m35.182s +0.810s 225
14 James Wharton Prema 1m35.187s +0.815s 180
15 Nikhil Bohra R-ace GP 1m35.258s +0.886s 168
16 Tukka Taponen Prema 1m35.311s +0.939s 169
17 Ivan Domingues Iron Lynx 1m35.338s +0.966s 171
18 Yash Aradhya Iron Lynx 1m35.683s +1.311s 192
19 Samir Ben Jenzer Motorsport 1m35.721s +1.349s 155
20 Anshul Gandhi Cram Motorsport 1m35.745s +1.373s 219
21 Ethan Ischer Jenzer Motorsport 1m36.166s +1.794s 161
22 Oliver Stewart Jenzer Motorsport 1m36.256s +1.884s 256
23 Frederick Lund AKM Motorsport 1m36.368s +1.997s 199
24 Nicola Abrusci AKM Motorsport 1m36.392s +2.020s 165
25 Alexander Geirer Jenzer Motorsport 1m36.928s +2.556s 109
26 Andrea Frassineti Cars Racing 1m37.503s +3.131s 117