Home Featured Andretti’s Foster fastest in Indy Nxt FP2 at Portland

Andretti’s Foster fastest in Indy Nxt FP2 at Portland

by Bethonie Waring

Photo: Karl Zemlin

Andretti Autosport’s Louis Foster set the pace in Indy Nxt’s second practice session at Portland. 

Foster led team-mate Hunter McElrea at the end of practice, with a gap of just 0.1285 seconds around the short road course.

Practice was paused after just 10 minutes when Abel Motorsports’ Jacob Abel span into the gravel. He was unable to get started again without assistance and red flag were waved as his car was cleared. 

At this point, championship leader Christian Rasmussen was top of the order, but there was still time to be found. 

Foster knocked Rasmussen off top spot and stayed there himself until the closing stages of the session when McElrea beat his benchmark time by more than half a second.  

Foster was able to respond, setting a 1m02.4266s that would stand as the fastest lap until the chequered flag. 

A few other drivers had incidents on track, including a wide moment for HMD Motorsports’ Nolan Siegel over the grass and a spin for his team-mate Christian Bogle, but all were able to rejoin the track themselves.  

Juncos Hollinger Racing’s series returnee Victor Franzoni went third quickest late on, only to be knocked down the order by Rasmussen and Siegel in the final laps. He would end FP2 in fifth, ahead of Reece Gold and Danial Frost. 

Kyffin Simpson and Ernie Francis Jr were eighth and ninth fastest, while Yuven Sundaramoorthy completed the top 10. 

Free practice results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Louis Foster Andretti Autosport 1m02.4266s 29
2 Hunter McElrea Andretti Autosport 1m02.5551s +0.1285s 29
3 Christian Rasmussen HMD Motorsports 1m02.5745s +0.1479s 27
4 Nolan Siegel HMD Motorsports 1m02.7051s +0.2785s 26
5 Victor Franzoni Juncos Racing 1m02.7169s +0.2903s 19
6 Reece Gold HMD Motorsports 1m02.7656s +0.3390s 30
7 Danial Frost HMD Motorsports 1m02.7740s +0.3474s 30
8 Kyffin Simpson HMD Motorsports 1m02.7928s +0.3662s 25
9 Ernie Francis Jr HMD Motorsports 1m02.8152s +0.3886s 29
10 Yuven Sundaramoorthy Abel Motorports 1m02.9190s +0.4924s 31
11 James Roe Jr Andretti Autosport 1m02.9692s +0.5426s 30
12 Jacob Abel Abel Motorsports 1m03.0033s +0.5767s 27
13 Jamie Chadwick Andretti Autosport 1m03.2362s +0.8096s 26
14 Christian Bogle HMD Motorsports 1m03.3319s +0.9053s 31
15 Josh Pierson HMD Motorsports 1m03.3620s +0.9354s 23
16 Matthew Brabham Juncos Racing 1m03.5030s +1.0764s 21
17 Jagger Jones Cape Motorsports 1m03.5504s +1.1238s 31