Home Formula 4British F4 Sebastian Alvarez boosts British F4 title hope with Snetterton win

Sebastian Alvarez boosts British F4 title hope with Snetterton win

by Bethonie Waring

Photo: Jakob Ebery Photography

Sebastien Alvarez claimed his second British Formula 4 victory at Snetterton, as he relaunched his title challenge.

The Double R Racing driver made a clean getaway and had a gap of almost a second by the end of the opening lap as JHR Developments’ Carter William’s and Carlin’s Zane Maloney battled for second place.

That fight continued throughout the race, leaving Alvarez free to enjoy an unchallenged victory, his first since the season-opening Brands Hatch round, by 3.424s.

Williams and Maloney ran side-by-side heading into the first corner, but the former held on around the outside to keep the position. The pair continued to run nose-to-tail through the 11-lap race, but Maloney couldn’t quite find a way past.

Arden’s Tommy Foster took fourth, the sixth time he has finished in that position this season, ahead of team-mate Bart Horsten and JHR’s Josh Skelton.

After a poor qualifying, Louie Foster spent most of the race stuck behind Roberto Faria. He tried three times to pass Faria around the outside of Turn 1, but the Fortec driver didn’t put a wheel wrong and held onto take seventh.

Eighth for Foster means he is now just one point ahead of team-mate Alvarez in the fight for second in the standings.

Their battle briefly allowed Alex Connor and Luke Browning, who was disqualified from qualifying after one of his mechanics was seen working on his car when it was supposed to be in parc ferme, to close the gap and make it a four-way fight, but the pair fell away in the closing laps and finished ninth and 10th respectively.

Race results (11 laps)
Pos Name Team Time
1 Sebastian Alvarez Double R Racing 20m56.247s
2 Carter Williams JHR Developments +3.424s
3 Zane Maloney Carlin +3.836s
4 Tommy Foster Arden +7.371s
5 Bart Horsten Arden +9.790s
6 Josh Skelton JHR Developments +11.816s
7 Roberto Faria Fortec Motorsports +16.290s
8 Louis Foster Double R Racing +16.735s
9 Alex Connor Arden +17.327s
10 Luke Browning Richardson Racing +21.534s
11 Alex Walker JHR Developments +23.381s
12 Reema Juffali Double R Racing +32.174s
13 Mariano Martinez Fortec Motorsports 32.364s
Fastest lap: Alvarez, 1m52.807s

Championship standings
1?Maloney 272? ?2 L Foster 206? ?3?Alvarez 205? ?4?Horsten 170.5? ?5 Skelton 139.5? ?6?Browning 119.5? ?7?Joe Turney 111? ?8?T Foster 98? ?9 Williams 89? ?10?Connor 74