Home Featured Alpine junior Collet ends FIA F3’s first pre-season test on top

Alpine junior Collet ends FIA F3’s first pre-season test on top

by Ida Wood

Photo: Formula Motorsport Limited

Alpine Academy member Caio Collet ended the first pre-season FIA Formula 3 Championship test on top, as his MP Motorsport team-mate Victor Martins failed to record a lap in the final session.

Collet traded the fastest lap of the three-hour Sunday afternoon session with Prema’s Dennis Hauger, both aiming for a new track record for the Dallara F3 2019 car.

It was Collet who won out with a 1m18.592s, which was 0.119 seconds faster than Hauger’s best lap.

Very close to matching Hauger were his fellow Red Bull proteges Jak Crawford, who had been at the top of the times through the first half of the session for Hitech GP, and Jonny Edgar.

While Carlin driver Edgar improved through the afternoon, Crawford’s lap was set towards the start of the session.

Formula 2 racer Matteo Nannini was fifth fastest for HWA Racelab, ahead of Mercedes-AMG Formula 1 junior Frederik Vesti (ART Grand Prix), Clement Novalak (Trident), Mikhael Belov (Charouz Racing System), Olli Caldwell (Prema) and Alexander Smolyar (ART).

There were several red flag periods that punctuated the afternoon running, the first caused by Jenzer Motorsport’s morning pacesetter Calan Williams crashing at turn 10. Hitech’s Honda junior Ayumu Iwasa was the next to bring action to a stop, and then Charouz’s Reshad de Gerus ground to a halt at turn 10 with 45 minutes to go.

Several drivers didn’t keep their fastest laps from the session, including MP’s Tijmen van der Helm and Trident’s David Schumacher.

The second pre-season FIA F3 test takes place at Barcelona on April 21/22.

Test results

Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Caio Collet MP Motorsport 1m18.592s 56
2 Dennis Hauger Prema 1m18.711s +0.119s 48
3 Jak Crawford Hitech GP 1m18.775s +0.183s 62
4 Jonny Edgar Carlin 1m18.791s +0.199s 50
5 Matteo Nannini HWA Racelab 1m18.866s +0.274s 46
6 Frederik Vesti ART Grand Prix 1m18.880s +0.288s 51
7 Clement Novalak Trident 1m18.886s +0.294s 35
8 Mikhael Belov Charouz Racing System 1m18.894s +0.302s 47
9 Olli Caldwell Prema 1m18.993s +0.401s 44
10 Alexander Smolyar ART Grand Prix 1m19.005s +0.413s 49
11 Amaury Cordeel Campos Racing 1m19.030s +0.438s 41
12 Roman Stanek Hitech GP 1m19.054s +0.462s 66
13 Logan Sargeant Charouz Racing System 1m19.204s +0.612s 45
14 Pierre-Louis Chovet Jenzer Motorsport 1m19.296s +0.704s 46
15 Oliver Rasmussen HWA Racelab 1m19.311s +0.719s 45
16 Ayumu Iwasa Hitech GP 1m19.345s +0.753s 50
17 Calan Williams Jenzer Motorsport 1m19.410s +0.818s 34
18 Arthur Leclerc Prema 1m19.415s +0.823s 52
19 Juan Manuel Correa ART Grand Prix 1m19.457s +0.865s 46
20 Jack Doohan Trident 1m19.509s +0.917s 45
21 David Schumacher Trident 1m19.578s +0.986s 39
22 Filip Ugran Jenzer Motorsport 1m19.664s +1.072s 44
23 Rafael Villagomez HWA Racelab 1m19.718s +1.126s 47
24 Lorenzo Colombo Campos Racing 1m19.756s +1.164s 37
25 Reshad de Gerus Charouz Racing System 1m19.801s +1.209s 40
26 Laszlo Toth Campos Racing 1m19.935s +1.343s 54
27 Kaylen Frederick Carlin 1m20.253s +1.661s 44
28 Tijmen van der Helm MP Motorsport 1m20.302s +1.710s 42
29 Ido Cohen Carlin 1m20.543s +1.951s 47