Home Featured Alexander Smolyar wins at Hockenheim but drops out of Formula Renault Eurocup title contention

Alexander Smolyar wins at Hockenheim but drops out of Formula Renault Eurocup title contention

by Tim Lumb

Photo: ACI Sport

Alexander Smolyar grabbed his third Formula Renault Eurocup win in very wet conditions at Hockenheim, as R-ace GP team-mate Oscar Piastri extended his points lead.

The race started behind the safety car due to the wet conditions. After a few laps Victor Martins led the pack as racing started, although only a few laps later the safety car came out again.

It was on the lap that the race resumed again that Smolyar made a late-braking move work on Martins to move up into the lead, and despite a second safety car after a car was beached in the gravel, Smolyar held on for victory.

Piastri’s championship lead was slashed to under six points after Martins won the first race of the weekend, and he was running behind Martins in race two.

However, in the final two minutes Martins and Caio Collet made contact and both span, elevating Piastri up to second and Martins getting back on track in sixth place.

Rookie champion Caio Collet was able to recover quickly from the incident to complete the podium in third.

Martins did pass one car to take fifth, but didn’t have enough time to catch up with Kush Maini – who started outside of the top 10 – in fourth.

Lorenzo Colombo dropped down the order around when the first safety car came out after he had a trip through one of the gravel traps. However the Italian was able to recover from eighth to finish in sixth.

Toro Rosso’s F1 Esports driver Cem Bolukbasi retired early on with a mechanical fault, bringing an end to his debut weekend in single-seaters, while backmarker Alessio Deledda got beached in the gravel with 12 minutes left on the race clock.


Race results
Pos Name Team Time
1 Alexander Smolyar R-ace GP 14 laps
2 Oscar Piastri R-ace GP +6.992s
3 Caio Collet R-ace GP +9.276s
4 Kush Maini M2 Competition +15.166s
5 Victor Martins MP Motorsport +18.835s
6 Lorenzo Colombo MP Motorsport +21.012s
7 Federico Malvestiti Bhaitech +23.664s
8 Amaury Cordeel MP Motorsport +24.196s
9 Petr Ptacek Bhaitech +24.588s
10 Patrik Pasma Arden +25.195s
11 Ugo de Wilde JD Motorsport +26.393s
12 Gregoire Saucy R-ace GP +27.038s
13 Leonardo Lorandi JD Motorsport +31.825s
14 Xavier Lloveras Global Racing Service +37.065s
15 Sebastian Fernandez Arden +41.192s
16 Frank Bird Arden +42.764s
Ret Alessio Deledda Global Racing Service
Ret Cem Bolukbasi M2 Competition
Fastest lap: Smolyar, 1m56.704s

Championship standings
1 Piastri 283? ?2 Martins 269.5? ?3 Smolyar 233? ?4 Collet 188? ?5 Colombo 181.5? ?6 Maini 92? ?7 de Wilde 80? ?8 Ptacek 68? ?9 Joao Vieira 59? ?10 Pasma 51