Home Formula 4British F4 Alex Quinn wins British F4 finale at Brands Hatch

Alex Quinn wins British F4 finale at Brands Hatch

by Ida Wood

Photo: Jakob Ebrey Photography

Alex Quinn won the final race of the British Formula 4 season at a damp Brands Hatch, while Hampus Ericsson secured the Challenge Cup with a third place finish.

Quinn turned his second pole of the season into an immediate lead over Linus Lundqvist, but could not extend it thanks to a lap one safety car.

Once racing resumed Quinn did the same, resisting two laps of attacks from Lundqvist before pressure from behind the Swede allowed Quinn to create a gap up front.

Having cleared the threat from behind Lundqvist started chasing Quinn again, setting fastest lap but eventually dropping back and leaving Quinn to take his fourth victory of the season.

Ayrton Simmons initially held third, attacking Lundqvist while defending from Logan Sargeant. He span out in the damp, and when Sargeant did the same it left Ericsson in a lonely third place.

With rival Harry Webb spinning out on lap one, Ericsson also reclaimed the Challenge Cup lead, and thus title, alongside his second overall podium.

Newly crowned champion Jamie Caroline fought a rearguard action for much of the race, but after seeing team-mate Sargeant off the track he upped the pace and established himself in fourth.

The Carlin driver eventually finished sixth, thanks to a questionable decision to slow down prior to the finish line to celebrate his title triumph.

This promoted other team-mate Patrik Pasma to fourth, with Caroline?s title rival Oscar Piastri moving up to fifth.

Oliver York held off Manuel Sulaiman for seventh, with Olli Caldwell and Karl Massaad rounding out the points.

Race Results (13 laps)
1 Alex Quinn Arden 20m50.157s
2 Linus Lundqvist Double R +2.380s
3 Hampus Ericsson Fortec +10.764s
4 Patrik Pasma Carlin +20.208s
5 Oscar Piastri Arden +20.612s
6 Jamie Caroline Carlin +20.944s
7 Oliver York Fortec +21.455s
8 Manuel Sulaiman JHR Developments +21.864s
9 Olli Caldwell Arden +24.665s
10 Karl Massaad Double R +24.891s
11 Jonathan Hoggard Fortec +25.870s
Ret Sam Smelt GW Motorsport
Ret Jamie Sharp Sharp
Ret Logan Sargeant Carlin
Ret Ayrton Simmons Arden
Ret Lucca Allen Falcon
Ret Harry Webb Richardson
Fastest Lap: Lundqvist, 1m27.534s

Championship Standings
1 Caroline 442 2 Piastri 376.5 3 Sargeant 356 4 Quinn 307 5 Lundqvist 306.5 6 York 274.5 7 Simmons 257.5 8 Pasma 167.5 9 Massaad 83 10 Ericsson 69