Home Formula RegionalFRegional European Championship Alessandro Giusti takes home FREC pole for race one at Paul Ricard

Alessandro Giusti takes home FREC pole for race one at Paul Ricard

by Roger Gascoigne

Photo: Niels Broekema / DPPA

G4 Racing’s Alessandro Giusti took his maiden Formula Regional European Championship pole position in qualifying for race one at Paul Ricard.

The reigning French Formula 4 champion became the first driver of the weekend to post a time faster than 1m59s to head Group B in the split qualifying session, with championship leader Martinius Stenshorne topping Group A to line up alongside Giusti on the front row for today’s race.

MP Motorsport’s Sami Meguetounif and Stenshorne’s R-ace GP team-mate Tim Tramnitz will line up on row two.

Local heroes Esteban Masson (Sainteloc Racing) and Victor Bernier (MP) set the pace early in Group A, trading places at the top of the timesheet before Tramnitz moved ahead with just under three minutes remaining.

Masson was on course to regain top spot after going fastest in the first two sectors, before ultimately falling just 0.013 seconds adrift of Tramnitz.

Stenshorne was flying, crossing the line on his final lap in 1m59.176s to beat his team-mate who, despite improving on his final tour by 0.280s, was unable to reclaim provisional pole.

Masson finished third, ahead of Bernier, Prema’s Rafael Camara and KIC Motorsport’s Maya Weug.

The G4 pair of Giusti and Michael Belov were the first to break into the 1m59s in Group B. As laptimes tumbled, Race Performance Motorsport’s pracrice pacesetter Santiago Ramos and then ART Grand Prix’s Laurens Van Hoepen moved to the front.

However, Giusti was not to be beaten, the Frenchman setting the fastest time of the weekend: a 1m58.968s.

Belov could not quite match his team-mate, rising to second before being shuffled back to fifth as others improved in the final seconds.

It was Meguetounif who emerged from a tight battle to claim a second row start, just 0.072s ahead of Prema’s Andrea Kimi Antonelli, with van Hoepen 0.015s further back.

Qualifying results

Pos Driver Team Group A Group B
1 Alessandro Giusti G4 Racing 1m58.968s
2 Martinius Stenshorne R-ace GP 1m59.176s
3 Sami Meguetounif MP Motorsport 1m59.079s
4 Tim Tramnitz R-ace GP 1m59.287s
5 Andrea Kimi Antonelli Prema 1m59.151s
6 Esteban Masson Sainteloc Racing 1m59.567s
7 Laurens van Hoepen ART Grand Prix 1m59.166s
8 Victor Bernier MP Motorsport 1m59.573s
9 Michael Belov G4 Racing 1m59.197s
10 Rafael Camara Prema 1m59.601s
11 Kas Haverkort Van Amersfoort Racing 1m59.279s
12 Maya Weug KIC Motorsport 1m59.749s
13 Tom Lebbon Arden 1m59.411s
14 Nikhil Bohra Trident 1m59.766s
15 Santiago Ramos R-P-M 1m59.487s
16 Owen Tangavelou Trident 1m59.777s
17 Lorenzo Fluxa Prema 1m59.626s
18 Roman Bilinski Trident 2m00.006s
19 Marcus Amand ART Grand Prix 1m59.676s
20 Matias Zagazeta R-ace GP 2m00.058s
21 Charlie Wurz ART Grand Prix 1m59.696s
22 Joshua Dufek Van Amersfoort Racing 2m00.195s
23 Joshua Duerksen Arden 1m59.716s
24 Kirill Smal Monolite Racing 2m00.369s
25 Emmo Fittipaldi Sainteloc Racing 2m00.093s
26 Maceo Capietto R-P-M 2m00.436s
27 Lucas Medina Sainteloc Racing 2m00.504s
28 Niels Koolen Van Amersfoort Racing 2m00.795s
29 Levente Revesz Arden 2m00.622s
30 Giovanni Maschio Monolite Racing 2m00.836s
31 Pierre-Alexandre Provost G4 Racing 2m00.740s
32 Enzo Scionti Monolite Racing 2m01.024s
33 Ivan Klymenko KIC Motorsport 2m01.455s