Home News Al Azhari extends Spanish F4 lead with another Algarve win

Al Azhari extends Spanish F4 lead with another Algarve win

by Ida Wood

Photo: Spanish F4

Keanu Al Azhari leaves Algarve with a 26-point lead in Spanish Formula 4 after winning the championship’s third race at the circuit.

After Drivex School’s Francisco Macedo broke down on the formation lap, the start was delayed and another formation lap was added.

MP Motorsport driver Al Azhari had pole and immediately swept to the inside to cover off Campos Racing’s Nathan Tye on the actual start, as James Egozi passed Thomas Strauven for third. Rodin Motorsport’s Strauven got back ahead by turn two, and behind them MP’s Mattia Colnaghi attacked Campos’s Ernesto Rivera for fifth.

Egozi passed Strauven again in the middle of lap one, and Rivera attempted to overtake him too through lap two. There was no change, and the order at the front settled down until Strauven tried reclaimig third at turn two on lap six.

The safety car was then called out due to Sainteloc Racing’s Matteo Quintarelli and Monlau Motorsport’s Tim Gerhards colliding, and racing did not resume until lap 10.

Strauven passed Egozi once again, going around the outside of him at turn one, and Rivera attempted the same move on lap 11 but failed. It mattered little as a lap later Egozi dropped all the way down to 17th.

With the top three positions then settled, Rivera’s fourth place was now under pressure but he managed to pull away from team-mate Jan Przyrowski, who had fought with Fluxa for much of the race.

Maciej Gladysz beat MP team-mate Griffin Peeble to seventh, with Colnaghi demoted to ninth, and Campos’s Enzo Tarnvanichkul took the final point in 10th after MP’s Rene Lammers dropped down to 15th on the last lap.

Race results (17 laps)

Pos Driver Team Time
1 Keanu Al Azhari MP Motorsport
2 Nathan Tye Campos Racing +0.831s
3 Thomas Strauven Rodin Motorsport +1.070s
4 Ernesto Rivera Campos Racing +4.206s
5 Jan Przyrowski Campos Racing +5.017s
6 Lucas Fluxa MP Motorsport +6.524s
7 Maciej Gladysz MP Motorsport +9.900s
8 Griffin Peebles MP Motorsport +10.236s
9 Mattia Colnaghi MP Motorsport +10.481s
10 Enzo Tarnvanichkul Campos Racing +11.079s
11 Peter Bouzinelos Rodin Motorsport +11.475s
12 Mikkel Pedersen Drivex School +14.367s
13 Gabriel Gomez TC Racing +15.016s
14 Douwe Dedecker Global Racing Service +15.568s
15 Rene Lammers MP Motorsport +15.641s
16 Andres Cardenas Campos Racing +15.769s
17 Preston Lambert Rodin Motorsport +17.516s
18 James Egozi Campos Racing +18.492s
19 Gustaw Wisniewski Tecnicar Motorsport +19.883s
20 Lorenzo Castillo Tecnicar Motorsport +25.390s
21 Matus Ryba Divex School +26.833s
22 Adam Hideg Cram Motorsport +27.439s
23 Maxi Restrepo Sainteloc Racing +27.617s
24 Matteo Quintarelli Sainteloc Racing +28.084s
25 Wiktor Dobrzanski Tecnicar Motorsport +28.401s
26 Lia Block Global Racing Service +28.830s
27 Cristian Cantu TC Racing +29.274s
28 Rehan Hakim Monlau Motorsport +29.438s
29 Filippo Fiorentino Cram Motorsport +29.792s
30 Alexander Jacoby Global Racing Service +53.602s
31 Yevan David Sainteloc Racing +1 lap
Ret Juan Cota Drivex School
Ret Tim Gerhards Monlau Motorsport
Ret Lenny Ried Monlau Motorsport
DNS Francisco Macedo Drivex School
DNS Eloi Gonzalez Drivex School
Fastest lap: Strauven, 1m44.933s

Championship standings
1 Al Azhari 100   2 Fluxa 74   3 Strauven 67   4 Rivera 54   5 Colnaghi 36   6 Tye 34   7 Przyrowski 33   8 Gladysz 31   9 Egozi 30   10 Bouzinelos 20