Home Z - Archive seriesFormula Renault 2.0FR2.0 Alps Aitken doubles up in Formula Renault 2.0 Alps at Spielberg

Aitken doubles up in Formula Renault 2.0 Alps at Spielberg

by Gruz David
Photo: Fast Lane Promotions

Photo: Fast Lane Promotions

Jack Aitken continues to be unbeatable in the third round of Formula Renault 2.0 Alps at Spielberg after taking his second victory in two races.

The championship leader was comfortably first throughout the entire race and built a lead of 3.8s at the checkered flag despite even receiving a warning flag for not respecting track limits.

Jake Hughes settled for runner-up after being unable to challenge Aitken for the victory.

Philip Hamprecht and Stefan Riener also stayed in their starting positions of third and fourth after the start with the latter trying to get past throughout the entire race.

Riener eventually lost patience and tried to make a late move on the German, which resulted in him having a puncture and Hamprecht retiring in the pits.

As such, Thiago Vivacqua inherited the podium and himself had to keep another driver at bay, Anton de Pasquale.

The Australian had to do with fourth ahead of Riener, while BVM’s Danylo Pronenko completed the top six.

Russian Dennis Bulatov took seventh, followed by Brazilian Bruno Baptista, and ARTA duo Amaury Richard and James Allen.

UPDATE: Amaury Richard has been demoted behind teammate James Allen due to track limits, but will remain in the top ten, with Vasily Romanov receiving the same penalty.

Race results
Pos. Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Jack Aitken Koiranen GP 18 laps in 27:15.786
2 Jake Hughes Koiranen GP +3.830
3 Thiago Vivacqua JD Motorsport +19.218
4 Anton De Pasquale Koiranen GP +19.676
5 Stefan Riener Koiranen GP +20.053
6 Danyil Pronenko BVM Racing +25.078
7 Denis Bulatov GSK Grand Prix +32.132
8 Bruno Baptista Koiranen GP +35.390
9 James Allen ARTA Engineering +36.061
10 Amaury Richard ARTA Engineering 45.635*
11 Vasily Romanov Cram Motorsport 47.199*
12 Matteo Ferrer Cram Motorsport +2 laps
13 Philip Hamprecht Koiranen GP +4 laps
Not classified
Daniele Cazzaniga GSK Grand Prix +16 laps
Matevos Isaakyan JD Motorsport +17 laps
TJ Fischer Cram Motorsport +18 laps