Home Road to IndyIndy Nxt Abel reinforces his advantage at Barber in Indy Nxt qualifying

Abel reinforces his advantage at Barber in Indy Nxt qualifying

by Bethonie Waring

Photo: Joe Skibinski

Jacob Abel continues his weekend of domination at Barber Motorsports Park with pole position for Sunday’s Indy Nxt race.

The Abel Motorsports driver was in the second qualifying group and went to the top of the times with his first flying lap. He was not dislodged from first place following that, and took his second career pole.

There had been cloudier and cooler conditions when the first group was on track, so it did not take long for Abel to maximise the improved weather to beat the 1m11.5746s lap that had earned Nolan Siegel provisional pole in the previous group.

Once he did do that he then went even faster, but only once, and his 1m11.3507s earned him pole by 0.2239 seconds.

The closest driver to Abel in group two was Andretti Global’s James Roe Jr, who was driving with a slow rear-right puncture. He still had enough pressure in the tyre to lap just 0.2464s off Abel’s benchmark, putting him third on the grid.

His team-mate Jamie Chadwick improved on her final lap to go third quickest in the group and therefore line up fifth. Bryce Aron (Andretti) and Myles Rowe (HMD Motorsports) were fourth and fifth quickest, having both spent time in third place.

Louis Foster‘s electrical problems from practice continued into qualifying, and the Andretti Global driver did not leave the pits so will be resigned to 21st and last on the grid.

There was more movement in the order in group one. Siegel topped the times early on, then Caio Collet bettered him. The two traded fastest laps multiple times, and ended up separated by 0.1328s. Collet will start fourth after being second best in his group. 

A late improvement from Michael d’Orlando made him third quickest, ahead of Reece Gold and Callum Hedge. They will line up sixth, eighth, and 10th on the grid.

Qualifying results
Pos Driver Team Group 1 Group 2 Laps
1 Jacob Abel Abel Motorsports 1m11.3507s 10
2 Nolan Siegel HMD Motorsports 1m11.5746s 10
3 James Roe Jr Andretti Global 1m11.5971s 10
4 Caio Collet HMD Motorsports 1m11.7074s 10
5 Jamie Chadwick Andretti Global 1m11.7240s 10
6 Michael d’Orlando Andretti Cape 1m11.9051s 10
7 Bryce Aron Andretti Global 1m11.7876s 10
8 Reece Gold HMD Motorsports 1m12.1029s 10
9 Myles Rowe HMD Motorsports 1m11.7934s 10
10 Callum Hedge HMD Motorports 1m12.2346s 10
11 Josh Pierson HMD Motorsports 1m11.9286s 10
12 Salvador de Alba Andretti Cape 1m12.4211s 10
13 Josh Mason Abel Motorsports 1m12.2278s 10
14 Jonathan Browne HMD Motorports 1m12.5662s 10
15 Jack William Miller Miller Vinatieri Motorsports 1m12.4573s 9
16 Yuven Sundaramoorthy Abel Motorsports 1m12.7849s 10
17 Christian Bogle HMD Motorports 1m12.5205s 10
18 Nolan Allaer HMD Motorsports 1m12.8388s 10
19 Lindsay Brewer Juncos Hollinger Racing 1m14.8969s 10
20 Niels Koolen HMD Motorsports 1m13.2075s 10
21 Louis Foster Andretti Global no time 0