Home Featured Wurz fastest on home soil in FIA F3’s Red Bull Ring practice

Wurz fastest on home soil in FIA F3’s Red Bull Ring practice

by Ida Wood

Photo: Formula Motorsport Ltd

Jenzer Motorsport’s Charlie Wurz was fastest on home soil in FIA Formula 3 practice at the Red Bull Ring.

Rodin Motorsport duo Callum Voisin and Piotr Wisnicki were first to the top in the 45-minute session, the former setting a 1m40.158s.

Four minutes in Jenzer’s Max Esterson lowered the pace to 1m37.366s, then Joseph Loake set a 1m33.920s a minute later to lead a Rodin 1-2-3.

AIX Racing’s Joshua Dufek was top of the times after seven minutes, having posted a 1m22.962s, but only 14 of the 30 drivers had set flying laps. He was then shuffled down to sixth as ART Grand Prix’s drivers took over the top three places, with Laurens van Hoepen laying down a 1m22.409s as the new benchmark.

A few minutes later the team’s lockout was ended by Van Amersfoort Racing’s Noel Leon, who set a 1m22.387s.

Trident’s Sami Meguetounif and Prema’s Gabriele Mini became the drivers to beat a third of the way through the session, but only narrowly beat Leon’s time at first. Mini then set a 1m22.066s, which kept him on top until 20 minutes in Hitech GP’s Luke Browning jumped from 30th to first with a 1m21.781s. His team-mate Martinius Stenshorne also broke the 1m22s barrier.

Soon drivers were heading back to the pits, but among those to stay out was Trident’s Leonardo Fornaroli who scrubbed 0.118s off the fastest lap.

With 13 minutes to go only Voisin and Loake were on track, but in the final 10 minutes it got busier again although few improved their pace until late on.

Wurz, who had been in 20th place, set a 1m21.182s with two minutes left on the clock to become the fastest driver and lead Trident’s Santiago Ramos by just 0.054s.

Fornaroli and Browning did not improve and ended practice in third and fourth, with Mini and Campos Racing’s Oliver Goethe in fifth and sixth until VAR’s Tommy Smith set a 1m21.851s on his final lap to claim fifth place. The trio were split by 0.024s.

Free practice results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Charlie Wurz Jenzer Motorsport 1m21.182s 25
2 Santiago Ramos Trident 1m21.236s +0.054s 19
3 Leonardo Fornaroli Trident 1m21.663s +0.481s 20
4 Luke Browning Hitech GP 1m21.781s +0.599s 16
5 Tommy Smith Vam Amersfoort Racing 1m21.851s +0.669s 22
6 Gabriele Mini Prema 1m21.858s +0.676s 17
7 Oliver Goethe Campos Racing 1m21.875s +0.693s 18
8 Martinius Stenshorne Hitech GP 1m21.904s +0.722s 16
9 Sami Meguetounif Trident 1m22.048s +0.866s 21
10 Noel Leon Van Amersfoort Racing 1m22.074s +0.892s 23
11 Dino Beganovic Prema 1m22.115s +0.933s 17
12 Laurens van Hoepen ART Grand Prix 1m22.131s +0.949s 22
13 Alex Dunne MP Motorsport 1m22.133s +0.951s 18
14 Christian Mansell ART Grand Prix 1m22.168s +0.986s 22
15 Nikola Tsolov ART Grand Prix 1m22.179s +0.997s 22
16 Tim Tramnitz MP Motorsport 1m22.196s +1.014s 17
17 Sebastian Montoya Campos Racing 1m22.206s +1.024s 19
18 Arvid Lindblad Prema 1m22.226s +1.044s 17
19 Mari Boya Campos Racing 1m22.269s +1.087s 20
20 Tasanapol Inthraphuvasak AIX Racing 1m22.326s +1.144s 20
21 Joshua Dufek AIX Racing 1m22.361s +1.179s 22
22 Sophia Floersch Van Amersfoort Racing 1m22.395s +1.213s 24
23 Matias Zagazeta Jenzer Motorsport 1m22.578s +1.396s 21
24 Cian Shields Hitech GP 1m22.598s +1.416s 16
25 Callum Voisin Rodin Motorsport 1m22.654s +1.472s 23
26 Max Esterson Jenzer Motorsport 1m22.766s +1.584s 23
27 Nikita Bedrin AIX Racing 1m22.827s +1.645s 20
28 Kacper Sztuka MP Motorsport 1m22.857s +1.675s 17
29 Piotr Wisnicki Rodin Motorsport 1m23.071s +1.889s 20
30 Joseph Loake Rodin Motorsport 1m23.217s +2.035s 24