Home Formula 4Italian F4 Ugochukwu tops Italian F4 practice at Monza

Ugochukwu tops Italian F4 practice at Monza

by Ida Wood

Photo: ACI Sport

Ugo Ugochukwu was fastest across Italian Formula 4’s two 40-minute free practice sessions on Friday.

Jenzer Motorsport’s series debutant Finn Wiebelhaus was first to set a lap in FP1, which began early in the morning, then Prema’s Aurelia Nobels lowered the pace by three seconds a minute later.

After 13 minutes there were red flags out as R-ace GP’s Matteo Quintarelli got himself beached in the gravel at turn 11, and at that point Prema’s Arvid Lindblad sat at the top of the timesheet with a 1m52.925s laptime.

He was 0.156 seconds up on team-mate James Wharton, with Van Amersfoort Racing’s Brando Badoer 0.259s back in third and the top 13 covered by 0.957s.

Track action resumed with 19 minutes to go, and it took a further nine minutes before a driver in the top 11 improved their pace.

BVM Racing’s Alfio Spina set a 1m53.619s to go ninth fastest, and three minutes later US Racing’s Kacper Sztuka improved by 0.145s to go from eighth to seventh.

As in pre-event testing, which was also topped by Lindblad, drivers often set personal bests in sector one but then could not hook up a lap together and so the early order at the top went unchanged with Lindblad leading Wharton and Badoer.

The pace was lowered in S2, although 18 of the 33 drivers did not improve. Lindblad was fastest from the off, with his early benchmark of 1m53.336s standing until the final minutes when Ugochukwu set a 1m52.873s to go fastest and Taponen slipped into second place with a 1m53.146s.

Lindblad improved too, to 1m53.332s, but with two minutes to go was shuffled down to seventh as Badoer and Wharton moved into second and third and then red flags came out before Lindblad could respond. Therefore he did not beat his FP1 time, but it put him third overall.

Free practice results
Pos Driver Team Time Gap Laps
1 Ugo Ugochukwu Prema 1m52.873s 27
2 Brando Badoer Van Amersfoort Racing 1m52.921s +0.048s 27
3 Arvid Lindblad Prema 1m52.925s +0.052s 26
4 James Wharton Prema 1m53.054s +0.181s 27
5 Kacper Sztuka US Racing 1m53.055s +0.182s 26
6 Tuukka Taponen Prema 1m53.146s +0.273s 27
7 Ivan Domingues Van Amersfoort Racing 1m53.228s +0.355s 27
8 Zachary David US Racing 1m53.390s +0.517s 25
9 Niko Lacorte Prema 1m53.502s +0.629s 26
10 Rashid Al Dhaheri Prema 1m53.579s +0.706s 29
11 Alfio Spina BVM Racing 1m53.619s +0.746s 26
12 Raphael Narac R-ace GP 1m53.620s +0.747s 27
13 Valentin Kluss PHM Racing 1m53.646s +0.773s 27
14 Davide Larini AKM Motorsport 1m53.673s +0.800s 25
15 Gianmarco Pradel US Racing 1m53.761s +0.888s 25
16 Akshay Bohra US Racing 1m53.778s +0.905s 27
17 James Egozi PHM Racing 1m53.879s +1.006s 24
18 Aurelia Nobels Prema 1m53.887s +1.014s 27
19 Nandhavud Bhirombhakdi PHM Racing 1m53.922s +1.049s 26
20 Matheus Ferreira Van Amersfoort Racing 1m53.952s +1.079s 28
21 Ariel Elkin Jenzer Motorsport 1m53.955s +1.082s 28
22 Ruiqi Liu US Racing 1m53.965s +1.040s 30
23 Jack Beeton Van Amersfoort Racing 1m53.980s +1.107s 21
24 Andrea Frassineti BVM Racing 1m54.062s +1.189s 26
25 Viktoria Blokhina PHM Racing 1m54.065s +1.192s 26
26 Matteo Quintareli R-ace GP 1m54.245s +1.372s 25
27 Frederik Lund AKM Motorsport 1m54.408s +1.535s 27
28 Tina Hausmann AKM Motorsport 1m54.439s +1.566s 18
29 Ethan Ischer Jenzer Motorsport 1m54.465s +1.592s 27
30 Finn Wiebelhaus Jenzer Motorsport 1m54.540s +1.667s 25
31 Guido Luchetti Airflow Racing 1m54.863s +1.990s 20
32 Diego de la Torre AKM Motorsport 1m55.009s +2.136s 27
33 Ismail Akhmed Van Amersfoort Racing 1m55.148s +2.275s 22