Home Featured Tramnitz takes home win in thrilling FREC race one at Hockenheim

Tramnitz takes home win in thrilling FREC race one at Hockenheim

by Alejandro Alonso Lopez

Photo: Dutch Photo Agency / Red Bull

Tim Tramnitz won on home soil in a hectic first race of the Formula Regional European Championship season finale at Hockenheim.

The new Red Bull junior took the lead of the race on the opening lap from fourth place on the grid, and resisted attacks from Rafael Camara to earn his third victory of the season.

He reduced gap in the standings to his R-ace GP team-mate Martinius Stenshorne, who eventually finished second, to 15 points ahead of the final race of the season, where they both will aim to become series runner-up.

Prema’s Camara claimed the lead off-the-line from polesitter Kas Haverkort, who immediately tried to cover the inside after a slow start but couldn’t hold on to first place.

Behind them, Tramnitz overtook Stenshorne, and placed himself alongside Camara and Haverkort helped by the slipstream as they headed to the hairpin. On the outside line, Tramnitz outbraked his rivals to take the lead of the race.

The safety car was deployed before the end of the first lap as MP Motorsport’s Javier Sagrera clipped the rear-left tyre of Arden’s Tom Lebbon at the hairpin spinning him round. Both drivers rejoined the track, but marshals had to recover the car of Van Amersfoort Racing’s Ivan Domingues, who had come to a halt at the exit of turn one.

The track went green again soon after, and Stenshorne didn’t hesitate and dived to the inside of Haverkort with late braking at the hairpin to take third place.

The race progressed with battles for position across the whole field. Series champion Andrea Kimi Antonelli recovered ground and moved up to seventh place, after starting 10th and dropping to 11th on the opening lap.

Haverkort ran wide into the gravel trap at the exit of the last corner, which resulted in him dropping from fourth to sixth place behind RPM Motorsport’s Maceo Capietto and VAR team-mate Nikita Bedrin.

Halfway through the race, Sainteloc Racing’s Emmo Fittipaldi went wide at the hairpin. Right behind him, his team-mate Esteban Masson went for the gap, and both touched as Fittipaldi returned to the racing line. The safety car was quickly called to the track, closing the gap Tramnitz and Camara had built at the front.

Both Fittipaldi and Masson were able to continue and racing resumed the following lap, but the green flag conditions didn’t last for long. Monolite Racing’s Valentin Kluss went off at the stadium before the restart, and then Trident’s Owen Tangavelou damaged his front-left suspension as he made contact with RPM’s Noah Stromsted in a four-car battle at the hairpin after the restart, just before the safety car was deployed for the third time.

Action resumed with under five minutes remaining on the clock with fierce battles everywhere.

Race leader Tramnitz fended off Camara first at turn eight, then at the hairpin the following lap, and Stenshorne benefitted from the momentum lost by the Ferrari junior to pass him for second place with an aggressive move on his inside at turn eight.

Camara ran off the track and Bedrin, who had moved ahead of Capietto the previous lap after he went wide while attempting to overtake Stenshorne, got past.

The battle for second place allowed Tramnitz to open a safe gap and win the race. Meanwhile, Bedrin put pressure on Stenshorne for second place in the last lap, but couldn’t make a move and finished third.

Race result (17 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Tim Tramnitz R-ace GP
2 Martinius Stenshorne R-ace GP +1.690s
3 Nikita Bedrin Van Amersfoort Racing +2.589s
4 Rafael Camara Prema +2.840s
5 Kas Haverkort Van Amersfoort Racing +3.338s
6 Andrea Kimi Antonelli Prema +3.802s
7 Maceo Capietto R-P-M +4.370s
8 Nikhil Bohra Trident +4.988s
9 Laurens van Hoepen ART Grand Prix +7.620s
10 Santiago Ramos R-P-M +7.755s
11 Roman Bilinski Trident +8.419s
12 Lorenzo Fluxa Prema +8.672s
13 Sami Meguetounif MP Motorsport +9.037s
14 Noah Stromsted R-P-M +9.237s
15 Victor Bernier MP Motorsport +9.566s
16 Marcus Amand ART Grand Prix +9.957s
17 Joshua Duerksen Arden +10.214s
18 Maya Weug KIC Motorsport +11.172s
19 Javier Sagrera MP Motorsport +12.334s
20 Pierre-Alexandre Provost G4 Racing +13.440s
21 Tom Lebbon Arden +14.355s
22 Evan Giltaire ART Grand Prix +15.072s
23 Giovanni Maschio Monolite Racing +15.727s
24 Francisco Soldavini G4 Racing +16.579s
25 Emmo Fittipaldi Sainteloc Racing +17.255s
26 Enzo Scionti Monolite Racing +18.195s
27 Ivan Klymenko KIC Motorsport +18.442s
Ret Alessandro Giusti G4 Racing
Ret Owen Tangavelou Trident
Ret Valentin Kluss Monolite Racing
Ret Esteban Masson Sainteloc Racing
Ret Matias Zagazeta R-ace GP
Ret Ivan Domingues Van Amersfoort Racing
Fastest lap: Tramnitz, 1m37.258s

Championship standings
 Antonelli 292   2 Stenshorne 236   3 Tramnitz 221  4 Camara 161   5 Haverkort 159   6 Giusti 111   7 Fluxa 86   8 Capietto 76   9 Meguetounif 75   10 van Hoepen 71