Home News Theophile Nael takes another Spanish F4 win in first Jerez race

Theophile Nael takes another Spanish F4 win in first Jerez race

by Ida Wood

Photo: F4 Spain

Sainteloc Racing’s Theophile Nael won Spanish Formula 4’s opening race at Jerez from fourth on the grid.

Pole position was taken by Campos Racing’s Andres Cardenas, by just 0.007 seconds over team-mate Enzo Deligny. It was a Campos 1-2-3-4 as Christian Ho was 0.113 behind in third and Nael was 0.195s off pole in fourth.

The top 21 were covered by 0.965s, and in total there were nine different drivers who at one point were on provisional pole before Cardenas went to the top with an unbeatable laptime.

The 35-car field was the biggest that Spanish F4 has had since the 2022 season finale, and at the start of the race Ho and Nael jumped the front row duo.

Ho and Nael had contact a few corners in and Nael got into the lead with Cardenas sneaking into second place. There was then a collision between MP Motorsport’s Alvise Rodella and Thomas Strauven which required the safety car to come out.

Fernando Barrichello also put his car into the gravel, and green flag action did not occur again until the race’s second half.

The top six held position on the restart, while Pedro Clerot dropped out of the points places. After a few laps the safety car was out again as Lin Hodenius beached his car in the gravel, while Rodella finally retired his car in the pits.

Rodin Carlin drivers Noah Lisle and Alex Ninovic almost collided on lap 15, and further back Sainteloc Racing’s Theodor Jensen spun his car to a stop. Although he had the capacity to get going again, race control red flagged the race on lap 16 and so the results were taken from the end of lap 14.

That meant Nael took a points lead-extending win by 0.746s over Cardenas, with Deligny completing the podium.

Race result (14 laps)
Pos Driver Team Gap
1 Theophile Nael Sainteloc Racing 29m47.474s
2 Andres Cardenas Campos Racing +0.746s
3 Enzo Deligny Campos Racing +1.778s
4 Matteo De Palo Campos Racing +2.970s
5 Valerio Rinicella MP Motorsport +3.600s
6 Christian Ho Campos Racing +4.001s
7 Jeronimo Berrio MP Motorsport +4.404s
8 Noah Lisle Carlin +6.816s
9 Keanu Al Azhari MP Motorsport +7.660s
10 Griffin Peebles Tecnicar Motorsport +7.935s
11 Ricardo Gracia Monlau Motorsport +8.557s
12 Pedro Clerot MP Motorsport +8.832s
13 Alexander Abkhazava Drivex School +9.473s
14 Alex Ninovic Carlin +9.527s
15 Theodor Jensen Sainteloc Racing +9.690s
16 Pablo Sarrazin Monlau Motorsport +10.122s
17 Georgi Zhuravskiy Drivex School +11.411s
18 Federico Al Rifai Carlin +11.459s
19 Kai Daryanani Cram Motorsport +12.444s
20 Juan Cota Drivex School +12.660s
21 Luciano Morano Sainteloc Racing +12.869s
22 Eric Gene Tecnicar Motorport +14.959s
23 Dewey Richards Tecnicar Motorport +15.423s
24 Lorenzo Castillo Tecnicar Motorport +15.811s
25 Isaac Barashi GRS +16.803s
26 Carl Bennett GRS +19.011s
27 Maxi Restrepo Drivex School +21.130s
28 Jesse Carrasquedo Jr Campos Racing +1 lap
29 Lin Hodenius Monlau Motorsport +5 laps
Ret Fernando Barrichello Monlau Motorsport
Ret Eloi Gonzalez GRS
Ret Noah Stromsted Campos Racing
Ret Alvise Rodella MP Motorsport
Ret Thomas Strauven MP Motorsport
Ret Flavio Olivieri Cram Motorsport
Pole: Cardenas, 1m43.033s   Fastest lap: Nael, 1m43.866s

Championship standings
1 Nael 158   2 Rinicella 111   3 Clerot 108   4 Ho 103   5 Deligny 100   6 Stromsted 86   7 De Palo 83   8 Al Azhari 69   9 Berrio 32   10 Cardenas 32