Home Formula 4Italian F4 Sztuka wins again as Italian F4 points leader Lindblad crashes out

Sztuka wins again as Italian F4 points leader Lindblad crashes out

by Ida Wood

Photo: ACI Sport

The Italian Formula 4 title fight closed up in race two at Mugello, as Kacper Sztuka won once again and points leader Arvid Lindblad crashed out.

Sztuka’s fifth successive win brings him to within 23 points of Lindblad, whose Prema team-mates Ugo Ugochukwu and James Wharton are also still also in title contention.

Ugochukwu thought about attacking poleman Sztuka on the opening lap, but had settled in behind when the safety car was called out due to Prema’s Aurelia Nobels beaching her car in the gravel.

Racing resumed on lap four and Ugochukwu tried passing Sztuka around the outside of turn one while Van Amersfoort Racing’s Ivan Domingues jumped passed Prema’s Rashid Al Dhaheri and Tuukka Taponen to get into sixth. Wharton meanwhile had offs in two successive laps and ended up in a distant 11th defending against of queue of cars.

Sztuka built a comfortable gap in front of Ugochukwu, and was 3.2 seconds clear when the race was neutralised on lap 12 due to VAR’s Brando Badoer and Lindblad crashing into the barriers exiting turn one. Badoer had tried passing Lindblad for third around the outside, and they ran side-by-side until their front and then rear wheels tangled and it sent them at speed into the barriers.

The order was then frozen to the finish due to the safety car’s return, with Sztuka leading home Ugochukwu, US Racing’s Akshay Bohra, Domingues, Taponen, Al Dhaheri and Freddie Slater. VAR’s debutant Slater got shown the black-and-white flag during the race, while AKM Motorsport’s Diego de la Torre got a drive-through penalty.

US Racing’s Zachary David won out in a lengthy battle with Wharton for what would become ninth place, with Wharton scoring one point to keep his title hopes alive.

Race result (15 laps)
Pos Driver Team Time
1 Kacper Sztuka US Racing 34m36.311s
2 Ugo Ugochukwu Prema +0.389s
3 Akshay Bohra US Racing +0.693s
4 Ivan Domingues Van Amersfoort Racing +1.081s
5 Tuukka Taponen Prema +1.660s
6 Rashid Al Dhaheri Prema +1.855s
7 Freddie Slater Van Amersfoort Racing +1.956s
8 Gianmarco Pradel US Racing +2.232s
9 Zachary David US Racing +2.539s
10 James Wharton Prema +2.991s
11 Niko Lacorte Prema +3.265s
12 Matheus Ferreira Van Amersfoort Racing +3.532s
13 Raphael Narac R-ace GP +3.832s
14 Ethan Ischer Jenzer Motorsport +4.152s
15 Jack Beeton Van Amersfoort Racing +4.853s
16 Ariel Elkin Jenzer Motorsport +4.968s
17 Nandhavud Bhirombhakdi PHM Racing +5.172s
18 James Egozi PHM Racing +5.495s
19 Alex Powell Prema +6.017s
20 Alfio Spina BVM Racing +7.166s
21 Ruiqi Liu US Racing +7.400s
22 Giacomo Pedrini PHM Racing +7.961s
23 Frederik Lund AKM Motorsport +8.416s
24 Kabir Anurag US Racing +8.919s
25 Kim Hwarang Jenzer Motorsport +10.202s
26 Davide Larini PHM Racing +10.507s
27 Tina Hausmann AKM Motorsport +10.739s
28 Viktoria Blokhina PHM Racing +11.178s
29 Guido Luchetti Airflow Racing +11.865s
30 Diego de la Torre AKM Motorsport +13.204s
31 Arvid Lindblad Prema +4 laps
32 Brando Badoer Van Amersfoort Racing +4 laps
Ret Matteo Quintarelli R-ace GP
Ret Aurelia Nobels Prema
Fastest lap: Sztuka, 1m48.796s

Championship standings
Lindblad 255.5   2 Sztuka 233   3 Ugochukwu 222   4 Wharton 161.5   5 Taponen 133   6 Badoer 128   7 David 116   8 Bohra 101   9 Lacorte 71   10 Al Dhaheri 65